Research Guides: Genealogy: Immigration

Immigration Records - Online and Print Sources

Immigration records, also known as "ship passenger arrival records," may provide genealogists with information such as:

(The above information is from the National Archives and Records Administration)

Links to Immigration Resources
These include general information such as Ship Passenger Arrival Records, and specific information such as Chinese, German, Italian, Russian Immigrant Records, the Irish Famine Passenger records, Canadian and Mexican Border Crossing Records.
Ethnic Resources
Cornell University's links to ethnic resources includes chat room discussions, Jewish, Irish, British genealogy resources and more.
Immigrant Ships Transcribers Guild: The Compass
Passenger ship lists of arrivals in the U.S.A. to the Atlantic, Pacific, and Gulf Coasts. (Includes links to privately owned websites.)
Passenger and Immigration Lists Bibliography, 1538-1900
WCU GENERAL CS68.Z9 F54 1981
Irish Passenger Lists, 1847-1871
Lists of Passengers Sailing from Londonderry to America on Ships of the J. & J. Cooke Line and the McCorkell Line
WCU REFERENCE E184.I6 I69 1988

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool created for libraries that provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique primary resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of research sources for tracing family history. These include family and local history books, U.S. Federal Census records, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI) - an index to genealogy and local history journals, and Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application files.

Selected Historical Census
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes historical statistics of the United States from Colonial times, statistics on the foreign-born population of the United States from 1850-1990.