Skip to main content
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Spanish Language news source with coverage from 1972 to present from diverse source types including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people in Spanish.
New
Current and archived information from 1972 to present from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources including newspaper titles, newswires, web editions, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Also Included in this collection are North Carolina, Appalachia, Multi-Cultural, African American, and Military, Government & Defense news sources.
New
Primary documents from collections including the American Indian Correspondence Collection of Presbyterian Missionary Letters, 1833-1893 and the documents from the War Department and Indian Affairs 1800-1824, as well as the Papers of the Panton/Leslie Company, Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderland and the Meriam Report On Indian Administration . More contemporary collections include documents of the American Indian Movements and Native American Radicalism, 1968-1979.
New
A regional news source for Appalachia from 1972 to present containing diverse source types including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
New
A biography database of in-depth profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and specialist content from Junior Authors & Illustrators.
New
Popular collection of product reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.
New
The American Economic Association's comprehensive resource to the world's economic literature. Includes the most sought-after economics publications including peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers from leading universities, PhD dissertations, books, collective volume articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews.
New
A curriculum and reference resource database containing periodical and digital media content designed for K-12 schools and libraries. Includes full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts, plus thousands of pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central, and also audio/video content.
New
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for résumés, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. The database includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.
Trial
The Food Institute strives to be the best “single source” for current, timely and relevant information about the food industry from “farm to fork.” Users must sign in for access to the trial. Email Username: trial@wcu.edu Password: 123 Trial ends February 10, 2018.
New
Testing and education preparation resource. Includes in-depth information on college, graduate, and professional programs, professional training, scholarships, and entrance tests alongside practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing exams.
Trial
GeoScienceWorld is a comprehensive resource for researchers in the Earth SciencesThis is trial ends February 15th, 2018.
New
An online historical collection of 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 North Carolina county newspapers.
New
An international news source with coverage of topics from 1972 to present containing diverse source types including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
New
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provide students and faculty access to a large collection of films, such as the Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, First Run Features, BBC, and documentary educational resources.
New
Mango Languages is a completely web-based language-learning system that focuses on conversation skills. First-time users must either create a profile or continue as a guest to access Mango. Two courses are offered: Basic--helps you learn basic words and phrases, and Complete--to help you move beyond basic language skills. More than 70+ languages are available.
New
General reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer-reviewed publications.
New
News collection focusing on military, government and defense publications and topics with coverage from 1972 to present from diverse source types including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Trial
North American Indian Thought and Culture integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files related to the scholarship and research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.
New
North Carolina news sources with coverage of topics from 1972 to present containing diverse source types including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
Trial
The Psychotherapy.net streaming video collection provides access to training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, psychology, and addiction. This trial ends February 8th, 2018.
New
Aligned both to ACRL Information Literacy and Common Core English Language Arts standards, Research Companion provides a framework and foundation for information literacy instruction, guiding students step by step via online streaming modules through the research process to help students develop their critical thinking and information literacy skills.
New
Market research reports compiled from widely available data. Topics include business-to-business marketing, casinos, gaming and wagering, consumer behavior, consumer marketing, entertainment, media and advertising, health care, leisure, restaurants, retail, sports marketing, and travel and tourism.
New
Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.
Trial
Springer Protocols is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. This trial ends February 18, 2018.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...