This is the "Resources" page of the "Biographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biographies  

Last Updated: May 4, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.wcu.edu/biographies Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference for all subjects

Biography Index. 1946-

A quarterly index to biographical works appearing in books and periodicals, covering a wide range of occupations and nationalities.Great to use becuase of its coverage. However, you will need to search each volume and then track down the articles.  REF INDEX TABLE

Current Biography. 1940-

Comprehensive articles on people in the news, politicians, sports figures, entertainers, and scientists.  Each article includes a photograph and a short bibliography. REF CT100 .C8

 

Online Resources - Datatabases

American National Biography 1975 - present
Biographies from all eras. It does not include living persons.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index 
Biographical sketches in more than 3,400 reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774 - present
Covers individuals who have served in the national legislature and Continental Congress, updated through the 105th Congress. The database may be searched by name, position, and state.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online 1000 - 1930
Contains biographies of persons who died between the years 1000 and 1920 or whose last known date of activity falls within these years.

LexisNexis Biographical Search
Finds information on directors, politicians, celebrities, and other leading figures. The information may contain data such as positions, date of birth, education, achievements and interests.

Literature Resource Center 
Biographical information about writers of fiction and nonfiction.

Who's Who 1607 - present
Biographies from 20 of the Who's Who titles published since 1985.

WorldCat 1000 BCE - present
Search all libraries worldwide.

 

 

Reference Disicpline Specific Examples

ART

The dictionary of art. REF N31.D5 1996
The Grove dictionary of art

 

HEALTH SCIENCES

American nursing : a biographical dictionary. REF RT34 .A44 1988

 

HISTORY

Notable women in American history : a guide to recommended biographies and autobiographies. REF CT3260.Z9 A27 1999

Webster's American military biographies. REF U52 .W4

 

LITERATURE

American writers; a collection of literary biographies. REF PS15 .M52

British writers. REF PR85 .B688

Twentieth century authors, a biographical dictionary of modern literature. REF PN451 .T93

Who's who in African literature: biographies, works, commentaries. REF PL8010 .J33

 

MUSIC

The new generation of country music stars: biographies of 50 artists born after 1940. REF ML394 .D54 2008

The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip