This is the "Home" page of the "Topics in Children's Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Topics in Children's Literature  

This guide is a starting place for information on children's books and how to locate desired topics and subjects. A growing resource, it currently includes juvenile book resources for math, special education, folklore, and art, dance, theater and music.
Last Updated: Jun 21, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.wcu.edu/childlittopics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

CMC Reference


Need help?  The Curriculum Materials Center reference collection features many directories and bibliographies designed to help users locate books on specific subject areas. 

Cover Art
A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books
Call Number: WCU CMC REF Z1037 .L715 2006

Cover Art
Best Books for Children: Preschool through Grade 6
Call Number: WCU CMC REF Z1037 .G48 2006

Cover Art
Best Books for Middle School & Junior High Readers
Call Number: WCU CMC REF Z1037 .G482 2004

Cover Art
Popular Series Fiction for K-6 Readers
Call Number: WCU CMC REF Z1037 .T4655 2005


 

Children's Literature Topics Page

Welcome to the Children's Literature Topics Research Guide.

This guide is a starting place for information on children's books and how to locate desired topics and subjects. A growing resource, it currently includes juvenile book resources for math, special education, folklore, and art, dance, theater and music.

Take time to explore this guide and feel free to recommend additions to the existing resources via the "What do you think?" interactive poll.  Please note that comments are moderated and will be verified before displayed.

Many thanks to Diane Schrecker, Curriculum Librarian at Ashland University for permission to use her research guide as a basis for this one. 

 

Get it Fast

Library Catalog 

Use the library catalog to locate books in the children's literature collection. Start with a keyword search on your topic, and add the words and juvenile to your search.  For example:  motorcycles and juvenile will retrieve children's books about motorcycles.  Your search results will include books from Western Carolina University, Appalachian State University, and University of North Carolina - Asheville.  Students, faculty and staff can request these books from the other universities online, and they will be delivered the next Monday, Wednesday or Friday after the request is made via ABC Express (Asheville, Boone, Cullowhee).


If you prefer to see only what is available at WCU, simply click and choose WCU CMC under location.
 

Juvenile Collection Overview: Library of Congress


Juvenile fiction falls under the Library of Congress subject heading P, language and literature; specifically PZ for general juvenile fiction. Juvenile non-fiction titles is classes within the topic area of it's regular subject heading class from A (general works) to Z (bibliography). Below is a quick guide resource for popular subject headings within language and literature.

Classification Subclass Subject Heading
P Language and Literature
PE English Language
PE 1155 Alphabet Books
PE 1628 Juvenile Dictionaries
PN Literature (General)
PN 6110 Poetry
PN 6371 Riddles
PN 6727-6790
Comic Books, strips, etc.
(Graphic Novels)
PZ Fiction and Juvenile
PZ 5 Collections
PZ 6 Early to 1860/1870
PZ 7
General Juvenile Fiction
Alphabetical by author last name
PZ 8 Fairy Tales
PZ 8.1 Folklore, Legends, Romance
PZ 8.2 Fables
PZ 8.3 Stories in Rhyme
PZ 10.3 Animal Stories
PZ 73-78 Languages: Spanish

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Interested in learning more about Library of Congress Classification? Visit the Library of Congress Classification Outline web site.

Your Subject Guide

Profile Image
Beth McDonough
Contact Info
Education Reference Librarian
Hunter Library
828-227-3423
bmcdono@wcu.edu
Toll Free: (866) 928-5424
Send Email
Subjects:
Education
 

Ask A Librarian!

Meet with a Subject Specialist
Arrange to meet with the librarian who specializes in your subject field for customized help with major research projects. Contact the subject specialist for your area

 

What do you think?

 

Was this resource helpful?



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip