This is the "Newspaper Databases" page of the "Newspapers_OLD" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspapers_OLD  

Hunter Library provides access to many newspapers online through databases and direct links to specific newspapers, or in print or microfilm housed in the library.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.wcu.edu/content.php?pid=103758 Print Guide Email Alerts

Newspaper Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Google News Archive

Google News Home Page

Google news archive provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. Users can search for events, people or ideas and see how they have been described over time. In addition to searching for the most relevant articles for their query, users can also see a historical overview of the results by browsing an automatically generated timeline.

 

Databases

African-American Newspapers 1827-1998
Available from Readex through Hunter Library
A collection of U.S. newspaper articles published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience, including: life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment and more. All full text.

America's Historical Newspapers  1690 - 1922
Available from NewsBank through Hunter Library
Search or browse the full-text of over 1,000 early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922. This database includes titles from all fifty states and there are nine titles for North Carolina alone.  Also included are several early newspapers in languages such as French and German.

LexisNexis Academic  
Search the full text of newspapers worldwide.  

New York Times Historical  1851 - 2008
Available from ProQuest through Hunter Library
Provides full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.  

Newspaper Source Plus  1996 - present
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Selected full text for national and international newspapers. Also includes full-text television and radio news transcripts.

Proquest Historical Newspapers 1849-2008
Available from ProQuest through Hunter Library
Contains the full text of the Washington Post (1877-1995), Los Angeles Times (1881-1988), New York Times (1851 - 2008), and Chicago Tribune (1849-1988). 

Regional Business News  1984 - current
Available from EBSCOhost through NC LIVE
Contains abstracts for 75 regional business publications, with full text for 54 of those titles.  

Times Digital Archive  1785 - 1985
Available from Times through Hunter Library
Includes every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London). The Times, often referred to as the "world's newspaper of record," covers international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War.  Users may search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, obituaries, and advertising. Content, including both pictures and text, may be search or browsed by category, author, date, title and more.

Wall Street Journal  1981 - present
Available from ProQuest through NC LIVE
Index of articles from 1981 to present. Many complete articles from 1984 to present.  

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip