This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Geography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geography   Tags: geography  

A guide to Hunter Library's geography-related resources.
Last Updated: Jul 27, 2015 URL: http://researchguides.wcu.edu/geography Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need Specific Place Information?

  • Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)  
      
    Contains current and historical information about physical (forests, woods, rivers, etc.) and cultural (buildings, cemeteries, etc.) geographic features in the United States and associated areas, excepting roads and highways. Each feature location contains state and county information, USGS topographic map name, and geographic coordinates.
 

I Just Want to Browse!

Want to browse Hunter Library's geography resources?  These call numbers tell you where to go so you can do just that.  Click on each one for more detail about each call number range. 

G1-922 Geography
                   GA1-1776 Mathematical geography. Cartography
G1000-3122  
Atlases GB3-5030   
Physical geography
G3180-9980 Maps GC1-1581 Oceanography

 

 

 

 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

If you are working on a research paper or project in geography, you may need to start with a topic overview to orient yourself.  Academic encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent places find these overviews.  For place and place name definitions, you will need to use a gazetteer (see the Atlases & Gazetteers tab). Many encyclopedias include a bibliography for each entry which can list original research or other useful resources.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
In Print @ WCU Reference G70.212 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Human Geography
In Print @ WCU Reference GF4 .E54 2006

The Mountain Encyclopedia: An A-Z Compendium of More than 2,300 Terms, Concepts, Ideas, and People
In Print @ WCU Reference GB500.5 .H37 2005

Encyclopedia of Geomorphology
In Print @ WCU Reference GB400.3 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Human Ecology
In Print @ WCU Reference GF4 .E53 2003

Geo-data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia
In Print @ WCU Reference G103.5 .G36 2003

World Geography
In Print @ WCU Reference G133 .W88 2001

Dictionary of Geography
In Print @ WCU Reference G63 .D538 1999

The Hutchinson Guide to the World
In Print @ WCU Reference G103.5 .H88 1998
2006 edition available electronically.

Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary
In Print @ WCU Reference G103.5 .W42 1997
2007 version available electronically.

World Geographical Encyclopedia
In Print @ WCU Reference G63 .E5213 1995

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Human Geography
In Print @ WCU Reference GF4 .D52 2000  Electronic version available. 

The Dictionary of Physical Geography
In Print @ WCU Reference GB10 .D53 2000  Electronic version available.

The Oxford Dictionary of the World
In Print @ WCU Reference G103.5 .O94 1995 

The Facts on File Dictionary of Human Geography
In Print @ WCU Reference GF4 .G66 1987

Longman Dictionary of Geography:Human and Physical
In Print @ WCU Reference G63 .C56 1985

Worldwide What & Where: Geographic Glossary & Traveler's Guide
In Print @ WCU Reference G63 .D47 

A Glossary of Geographical Terms
In Print @ WCU Reference G108.A2 B6 1966 

 

Other Reference Sources

Cities of the World
In Print @ WCU Reference G153.4 .C56

The Remote Sensing Data Book
In Print @ WCU Reference G70.4 .R435 1999


About Krista

Profile Image
Krista Schmidt
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip