This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Geosciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geosciences   Tags: earth_sciences, geology, geosciences, natural_sciences  

A research guide for finding information sources in the geosciences.
Last Updated: Nov 26, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.wcu.edu/geosciences Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Streaming Films in Geosciences!

Geosciences

OepnGeoSci

  • OpenGeoSci
    Search over 300,000 maps, data sources, charts, and tables for information from all areas of earth sciences.

    Best feature: limiting results by location of study (e.g. North Carolina, Blue Ridge Mountains, etc.).
 

Find a Journal

Search for a specific journal title


 

Overview

If you are working on a research paper or project in the geosciences, you may need to start with a topic overview to orient yourself.  Academic encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent places find these overviews. Many encyclopedias include a bibliography for each entry which can list original research or other useful resources.

Encyclopedia of Geology (5 vols.)
Elsevier Academic, 2005.
REF QE5 .E516 2005

Oxford Companion to the Earth
Oxford University Press, 2000.
REF QE5 .O94 2000

Innovations in Earth Sciences
ABC-CLIO, 1999.
REF QE26.2 .I56 1999

Sciences of the Earth: an encyclopedia of events, people, and phenomena (2 vols.)
Garland Pub., 1998.
REF QE11 .S38 1998

Chemical Elements in the Environment: factsheets for the geochemist and environmental scientist
Springer, 1998.
REF QE516.4 .R45 1998 

Glossary of Geology
American Geological Institute, 1997.
REF QE5 .B38 1997

Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences (2 vols.)
Simon & Schuster and Prentice Hall International, 1996.
REF QE5 .E5137 1996

Encyclopedia of Earth System Science
Academic Press, 1992.
REF QE5 .E514 1992

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Earth Sciences
Oxford University Press, 1991.
REF QE5 .C66 1991 

Information Sources in the Earth Sciences
Bowker-Saur, 1989.
REF QE26.2.Z9 I55 1989

The Facts on File Dictionary of Geology and Geophysics
Facts on File, 1987.
REF QE5 .L36 1987 

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences
Cambridge University Press, 1981.
REF QE26.2 .C35 1981

Geology of National Parks
Hunt Pub. Co., 1997.
REF QE77 .H36 1997

The Encyclopedia of structural geology and plate tectonics
New York: Wiley, c2001.
REF QR9.S56 2001

Dana's New Mineralogy: The system of mineralogy of James Dwight Dana and Edward Salisbury Dana
Wiley, 1997.
REF QE372 .D23 1997

Volcanoes of the World: a regional directory, gazetteer, and chronology of volcanism during the last 10,000 years
Geoscience Press, 1994.
REF QE522 .V92 1994 

The Encyclopedia of applied geology
Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1984.
REF QE5 .E5 1984 

The Encyclopedia of Mineralogy
Hutchinson Ross Pub. Co., 1981.
REF QE355 .E49

The Encyclopedia of Paleontology
Hutchinson Ross Pub. Co., 1979.
REF QE703 .E52 

The Encyclopedia of Sedimentology
Hutchinson Ross Pub. Co., 1978.
REF QE471 .E49

Encyclopedia of Minerals
Van Nostrand Reinhold Co.,1974.
REF  QE355 .R6

About Krista

Profile Image
Krista Schmidt
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip