Welcome
This guide will help you get started with general legal research. You can use Getting Started to find out where to go to get good overviews and quick information – this is a particularly useful place to start if you don’t know a lot about your topic. Find Books/Media and Find Articles help you figure out how to use our catalog (for books and videos) and our databases (for articles from scholarly and/or popular journals, newspapers, etc). Find Articles also takes you to a list of the best legal databases. Find Cases leads you to full text of cases from federal and state court systems and to sources that identify cases on a topic. Find Laws lists statutory law materials, and there is also a page for International Law. How Do I covers common questions you may have, such as “How do I get things that aren’t at Hunter Library?”
Getting Started
West's Encyclopedia of American Law
An authoritative legal encyclopedia written in plain English for the layman. Useful appendix volume contains the full text of many historical legal documents. Index volume includes legal dictionary. Currency is maintained by the American Law Yearbook.
REF KF 154 .W47 (2005+ Annual updates)
American Jurisprudence, 2nd (AmJur2d)
Legal encyclopedia with many case references. Detailed multi-volume index.
Also available online through Westlaw Campus Research.
REF KF 154 .A42
Strong's North Carolina Index, 4th
Similar to American Jurisprudence, but this is an encyclopedia of North Carolina law, with case references and cross references to federal law on topics.
REF KFN 7449 .S82
Black's Law Dictionary
Definitions of most words and phrases used in law. Legal abbreviations listed in back of volume.
REF KF 156 .B53 2004
American Law Reports, 2d, 3d, 4th, 5th and 6th Series (ALR 2d, ALR 3d, ALR 4th, ALR 5th, ALR 6th)
In-depth analysis of legal issues, including lists of relevant cases, case summaries, and, for each topic, one complete case. Also available online through the Westlaw Campus Research database.
REF KF 132 .A52, .A54, .A542, .A543, .A56
American Law Reports Federal (ALR Fed)
In-depth analysis of law topics, with summaries and references to federal cases.
Also available online through the Westlaw Campus Research database.
REF KF 105 .A54
Your Business Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Business |


Loading...
