Research Guides: Legal History: Home

Search by topic

Option 1: It's usually wise to start with secondary sources (books, articles, etc.) or tertiary sources (encyclopedias) that will lead you to specific laws and cases, which will be neatly cited in the footnotes or the bibliography. Let an historian do some of the legwork for you.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title.

Search for articles
The Quick Search for History will search within major history and related journals.

Option 2: Newspapers will often give a play-by-play of a major case; newspapers of record will make the public aware of a new law.

Historical North Carolina Newspapers Research Guide
Your guide to finding historical newspapers on any topic. Many national newspapers will cover NC news, so take a look at the News & Newspapers database in addition to NC newspapers.

Once you know what law or case you need, search WestLaw Next

NC Legal History

Encyclopedia of North Carolina (online via NCPedia)
Go here first--this is one of the best sources you can use to find a topic, focus a topic, get background on your topic. Each entry has a list of secondary, and sometimes primary, sources on the topic--such a timesaver. Also available in print: WCU REFERENCE F254 .E54 2006

Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Choose State Materials, North Carolina, and then choose the type of material (Secondary Sources are a good place to start).

North Carolina Session Laws and Resolutions Passed by the General Assembly
The laws and resolutions passed by a single session of the NC Legislature. 1817-2011 available online. Also available REFERENCE KFN .425.N6 (older issues in Special Collections)

North Carolina History
by Heidi Buchanan Last Updated Apr 5, 2024 412 views this year

Laws & Codes

United States Statutes at Large
"The permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress."

Tips

Start with secondary or tertiary (encyclopedias) and find out as much as you can before moving to mega databases like Westlaw.
Online does not always equal fast. Sometimes it is easier to browse through the print volumes, then find the full text online when you have a citation page number.
You may have to use microfilm. Many NC newspapers are only available on microfilm Use the "Browse Hunter Library's Historical NC Newspapers" guide below to identify the best points of access.
You should ask for help. Legal research is very complicated; email your librarian when you are stuck.