Skip to main content
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Newspapers: Carteret to Cumberland Counties

Find current events, historical news archives, and North Carolina newspapers, past and present.

Carteret to Cumberland Counties

Carteret County

Morehead City Weekly News (Morehead City ) 
        (On reel with Iredell Gazette
        Dec. 31, 1892

Cherokee County

Cherokee Herald (Murphy) 
        (On reel with Iredell Gazette
        June 24, 1874; Jan.5, 1876; Oct.4, 1876; Nov.1, 1876 
        Ceased 1876

Murphy Bulletin (Murphy) 
        (On reel with Iredell Gazette
        Feb.24, 1886-Oct.11, 1888

Murphy Advance (Murphy 
        (On reel with Iredell Gazette
        June 3, 1889

Continued by:

Cherokee Scout (Murphy) 
        1890-1917; 1923-1950; 1952-1956; 1960; 1963-1964; 1976; Feb.25, 1980- 
        April 5, 1988

Andrews Journal (Andrews) 
        July 23, 1959-Feb.25, 1988; Jan.4, 1990-Sept.30, 1993

Cherokee County, Georgia

Cherokee Phoenix (New Echota, GA) 
        (Text in Cherokee and English) 
        Feb.21, 1828-Feb. 4, 1829

Continued by:

Cherokee Phoenix and Indian's Advocate (New Echota, GA) 
        (On reel 1 of Cherokee Phoenix
        (Text in Cherokee and English) 
        Feb. 11, 1829-May 31, 1834 
        (Not published May 6-May 20, 1829; Jan 13, 1830, Feb. 5, 1830, July 8, 1831

Cherokee Advocate Tahlequah, (Cherokee Nation) 
        Sept. 6, 1844-March 3, 1906 (Incomplete holdings)

Chowan County

North Carolina Gazette, or, the Edenton Intelligencer (Edenton) 
        (On reel with Eneyclopedian Instructor and Farmer's Gazette
        Dec. 19, 1787 
        Indexed in: Index to North Carolina Newspapers, 1784-1789

Continued by:

Edenton Inteligencer (sic) (Edenton) 
        (On reel with Encyclopedian Instructor and Framer's Gazette
        April 9, 1788; June 4, 1788 
        Indexed in: Index to North Carolina Newspapers, 1784-1789

State Gazette of North Carolina(Edenton) 
        Sept. 8, 1788-Feb.20, 1799 (Negative Copy) Incomplete holdings 
        Indexed in: Index to North Carolina Newspapers, 1784-1789

Continued by:

Herald of Freedom (Edenton) 
        (On reel 2 of State Gazette of North Carolina
        March 27, 1799; May 1, 1799 (Negative Copy)

Encyclopedian Instructor and Farmer's Gazette (Edenton) 
        May 21, 1800

Continued by:

Post Angel, or Universal Entertainment (Edenton) 
    (On reel with Encyclopedian Instructor and Farmer's Gazette
    Sept. 10, 1800; Nov. 12, 1800

Continued by:

Edenton Gazette Edenton (1800) 
        (On reel with Encyclopedian Instructor and Farmer's Gazette
        Nov. 19, 1800- Dec. 11, 1800; April 9, 1801

Clay County

Clay County News (Hayesville) 
            Sept. 17, 1926-March 18, 1938; Nov. 27, 1942-Nov.8, 1943

Clay County Progress (Hayesville) 
            Nov. 16, 1951-Oct. 31, 1952; Oct. 31, 1958; Jan. 14, 1982-Dec. 29, 1983;  Jan. 5, 1984-Dec. 27, 1984

Merged into: Cherokee Scout (Murphy)

Mountain Home Companion (Hayesville) 
    June 10, 1987-Aug., 1989; 1993

Craven County

North Carolina Gazette (1751-1759)(New Bern) 
       (On reel 1 with North Carolina Gazette (1768-1778) 
        Nov., 15, 1751; March 6, 1752; March 13, 1752; July 7, 1753; April 15, 1757;   Oct. 18, 1759

North Carolina Magazine or Universal Intelligencer New Bern 
        (On reel 1 of North Carolina Mercury and Salisbury Advertiser) 
        July 29, 1764-July 6, 1764; Sept. 28, 1764-Oct.5, 1764; Oct. 12, 1764-Oct.19, 1764; Nov. 30, 1764- 
        Dec. 7, 1764; Dec. 14, 1764-Dec. 21, 1764; Jan11, 1765-Jan.18, 1765

North Carolina Gazette (1768-1778) New Bern 
        Jan. 24, 1768-Nov. 30, 1778 Holdings Incomplete

North Carolina Gazette, or Impartial Intelligencer and Weekly General Advertiser (New Bern) 
        (On reel 2 of North Carolina Gazette
        July 29, 1784; Sept. 2, 1784; Dec. 9, 1784 
        Indexed in: Index to North Carolina Newspapers, 1784-1789

Martin's North Carolina Gazette(New Bern) 
        (On reel 1 of North Carolina Gazette (1789-1795) 
        Nov. 3, 1785; July 11, 1787-Dec. 19, 1787 
        Indexed in: Index to North Carolina Newspapers, 1784-1789

Continued by:

North Carolina Gazette(1789-1798) 
        April 1, 1790-Feb. 24, 1798 Holdings incomplete

State Gazette of North Carolina (New Bern) 
        On reel 1 of State Gazette of North Carolina (Edenton) 
        Oct. 4, 1787-March 27, 1788 (Negative Copy) 
        Indexed in: Index to North Carolina Newspapers, 1784-1789

Newbern Gazette(1789(New Bern) 
        (On reel 1 of North Carolina Mercury and Salisbury Advertiser
        Aug. 25, 1798;Nov. 24, 1798; Dec. 1, 1798-Dec. 29, 1798;  Jan. 12, 1799;Jan. 26, 1799; Feb. 2, 1799- 
        March 16, 1799; July 20, 1799; May 23, 1800; Aug. 15, 1800; Sept. 26, 1800

Continued by:

Newbern Gazette, and Political and Miscellaneous Register (New Bern) 
        (On reel 1 of North Carolina Mercury and Salisbury Advertiser) 
        Apr. 25, 1801; June 10, 1803; Mar. 9, 1804

North Carolina Daily Times (New Bern) 
        (On reel with Daily North Carolina Times
        Apr. 28, 1865-Sept. 6, 1865 (Negative copy)

Continued by:

New Berne Daily Times (New Bern) 
        (On reels 2-6 of Daily North Carolina Times
        Sept. 7, 1865-Aug. 16, 1866; Jan1, 1869-Nov. 30, 1869; Feb. 4, 1871-Mar. 27, 1873 (Negative copy

Continued by:

New Berne Times (New Bern) 
        (On reels 6-8 of New Berne Daily Times
        March 28, 1873-Dec. 29, 1874

Newbern Weekly Times (New Bern) 
        (On reel 4 of Daily North Carolina Times
        Aug. 21, 1866-Oct. 16, 1866 (Negative Copy)

New Bern Republican (New Bern) 
        May 2, 1867-May 23, 1868; Sept. 16, 1868-Oct. 8, 1868 (Negative Copy)

Continued by:

New Bern Daily Republican (New Bern) 
        (On reel with New Bern Republican
        Oct. 10, 1868-Dec. 31, 1868 (Negative Copy)

Cumberland County

Fayetteville Gazette Fayetteville (1789)( Fayetteville) 
        (On reel with Encyclopedian Instructor, and Farmer's Gazette
        Aug. 24, 1789; Sept. 14, 1789; Sept. 21, 1789; Oct. 12, 1789 
        Indexed in: Index to North Carolina Newspapers, 1784-1789

Continued by:

North Carolina Chronicle: or Fayetteville Gazette (Fayetteville) 
        (On reel with Encyclopedian Instructor, and Farmer's Gazette
        Feb. 1, 1790-March 7, 1791 (Incomplete Holdings)

Fayetteville Gazette (1792-1794) (Fayetteville) 
        (On reel with Encyclopedian Instructor, and Farmer's Gazette
        Aug. 7, 1792-Nov. 19, 1793 (Holdings Incomplete)

North Carolina Centinel and Fayetteville Gazette (Fayetteville) 
        (On reel with Encyclopedian Instructor, and Farmer's Gazette
        July 25, 1795; Aug. 8, 1795; Aug. 15, 1795; Aug. 29, 1795

North Carolina Minerva and Fayetteville Advertiser (Fayetteville) 
       (On reel with Raleigh Minerva
        March 31, 1796-April, 1799 (Incomplete holdings)

(Continued by North Carolina Minerva and Raleigh Advertiser, Raleigh)

Carolina Observer (1816-1822) (Fayetteville) 
        (On reel 1 of Fayetteville Observer
        Aug. 22, 1816; Jan. 30, 1817; Feb. 6, 1817; Feb. 27, 1817; Apr. 24, 1817; Apr. 30, 1818; July 30, 1818; 
        Aug. 13,  1818; Mar. 4, 1819 (Negative Copy)

Continued by:

Carolina Observer and Fayetteville Gazette (Fayetteville) 
        (On reel 1 of Fayetteville Observer) 
        Jan. 2, 1823-Oct. 16, 1823 (Negative Copy)

Continued by:

Carolina Observer (1823-1832) (Fayetteville) 
        (On reels 1-4 of Fayetteville Observer
        Oct. 23, 1823-Dec. 25, 1832 (Negative Copy)

Continued by:

Fayetteville Observer (1833-1865) (Fayetteville) 
        Jan. 15, 1833-March 6, 1865 (Negative Copy)

Fayetteville Observer (1883-1919) (Fayetteville) 
        Feb. 8, 1883-Dec. 27, 1900 (Negative Copy)