Welcome
This guide serves as a basic introduction to information sources for Social Work students.
Comments (0)
Getting Started
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Hunter Library has many print and online encyclopedias in social work, counseling, psychology, and related subjects. Some good bets are:
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Call Number: REF HV12 .E53 2008
ISBN: 0195306619
Oxford University Press and The National Association of Social Workers are proud to announce that a new, completely updated, revised and expanded 20th edition of this essential work is now available in paperback. The 400 articles in this four-volume set cover all aspects of social, work from practice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, to social policy and history. This new edition of the Encyclopedia includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster. Each thoughtful article is written and signed by a top academic or social work practitioner and includes a bibliography for further reading. For even further ease of use, all volumes are fully cross-referenced and include a complete index.
Encyclopedia of Counseling
Call Number: REF BF636.54 .E53 2008
ISBN: 1412909287
Written for the general reader as well as professionals and students in the field, each of the four volumes of this reference contains A-Z entries on broad themes--changes and challenges in the field (v.1), personal and emotional counseling (v.2), cross-cultural counseling (v.3), and career counseling (v.4)--reflecting the wide range of disciplines and practices of the profession.©2008 Book News, Inc.
Addiction : a reference encyclopedia
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE HV5804 .P33 2010
ISBN: 1598842293
What unites addictions to substances and to behaviors are their effects on behavior, note Padwa (an independent PhD-level researcher on public mental health policy) and Cunningham (history, Hebrew Union College, Los Angeles) in their expansive introductory scientific and historical overview of addiction. Alphabetically-arranged entries on major figures, organizations, events, U.S. government efforts to control the use of addictive substances, and developments in the study of addiction span "Al- Anon" (a mutual aid group for family and friends of alcoholics) to "Young, Kimberly S." (a pioneer in research on Internet addiction, albeit that the just-published Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fifth edition, does not recognize such an addiction). The reference includes annotated primary source documents and further reading. Annotation ©2010 Book News, Inc.


Loading...
