This guide lists research resources for the discipline of sociology
- A Dictionary of Sociology
- Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
- Credo Reference
350+ full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books from the world’s leading publishers, providing authoritative information in the form of quick facts and in-depth articles. Find background information, key concepts, historical context, and lists of the best books on a topic.
- ASA Style Guide
A very helpful "quick" style guide from the ASA's website. It contains citation examples for most of the types of books and journal articles you will be citing in your paper. Check the quick guide first and then consult the complete guide in the reference shelves if needed.WCU Reference HM73 .A54 1997
- EndNote Basic
Create an account and go in! Don't buy any of the other versions prominently displayed on the opening screen - just go with this version we have through the library.
- Newspapers Guide
- Soc Index
This major research database for Sociology indexes over 3,300 journal and other titles. It contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895 and 72 "priority" coverage journals. The database also includes full text for 547 books and 6,711 conference papers. In addition there is a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus and searchable cited references.
If you are researching sports, you can search another Ebscohost database at the same time: SPORTDiscus with full text. After you access SocINDEX, click on the link that says "Choose Databases" near the top of the page, and check the box next to SPORTdiscus.
- Library Catalog
Find scholarship on your topic, published in book form.
- Web of Science
Provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index. These databases index articles in nearly 10,000 journals from all disciplines.
- Google Scholar
Use this after you have found that one perfect article. Enter in the article title and see who has cited that study since it was published. If you set up your scholar preferences (see Google Scholar tab on this guide), you can link to the full text of many resources.