This is the "Science Content" page of the "Science Education: Teaching Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science Education: Teaching Resources  

Last Updated: Jun 25, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.wcu.edu/teachscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Science Content Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Get Started

One of the best ways to get started is to develop background knowledge in your content area.  Here are some great resources:

Gale encyclopedia of science (ebook)
This six-volume set covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Consisting of alphabetically arranged entries, it provides a user-friendly format that makes the broad scope of information easy to access and decipher. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific subjects and define terms. Longer entries conclude with a bibliography. The 4th edition has been completely updated and includes more than 75 new entries on key scientific topics in the news, including: DNA databanks, Crime Scene Investigations, Internet Search Engines, Podcasts, Weapons of Mass Destruction, Wireless Communications and much more.

The encyclopedia of earth
A new electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of food science and technology
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE TP368.2 .E62 2000
Now in a thoroughly-updated and expanded second edition, Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology covers fundamental concepts and practical requirements in food science, as well as cutting-edge technological and industry information. The encyclopedia features A-to-Z coverage of all aspects of food science, including: the properties, analysis, and processing of foods; genetic engineering of new food products; and nutrition.

Cover Art
How products are made : an illustrated guide to product manufacturing
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE TS146 .H67
ISBN: 0810389525
This multi-volume set explains and details the manufacturing process of a wide variety of products, from daily household items to complicated electronic equipment and heavy machinery. The site provides step by step descriptions of the assembly and the manufacturing process (complemented with illustrations and diagrams) Each product also has related information such as the background, how the item works, who invented the product, raw materials that were used, product applications, by-products that are generated, possible future developments, quality control procedures, etc.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science and technology
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE Q121 .M3 2007
The new Ninth Edition features 7100 articles covering 97 fields of science; more than 12,000 illustrations; study guides; many thousands of bibliographic entries and 61,000 cross-references for background material and in-depth study; a topical index; and a 500+ page Analytical Index for fast access to information.

Science reference center (EBSCO)
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, and technology. SRC also provides articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

Science in context (GALE)
This database offers thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations. The latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines, academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of chemical technology
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE TP9 .E685 1991
This 27 volume print set represents the most comprehensive reference available on the subject of chemistry with nearly 1200 entries on 30,000 pages covering the entire scope of chemical technology. Includes basic chemical information as well as applications health and safety implications

Cover Art
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE QL7 .G7813 2003
ISBN: 0787653624
"This is a revised and updated edition of one of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources on the world's animals. Similar to the first edition written by noted zoologist Bernard Grzimek and published in 1972, the second edition covers all types of animals in geographic areas around the world. It includes high-quality photographs and illustrations and a comprehensive index to all volumes."--"The Top 20 Reference Titles of the Year," American Libraries, May 2004.

Cover Art
Science matters: Achieving scientific literacy
Call Number: WCU Q 162 .H36 2009
ISBN: 0307454584
In this thoroughly revised and updated new edition of their classic bestselling guide to basic principles of science, Robert Hazen and James Trefil take into account the most recent developments, from particle physics to biotechnology.

The NSTA Learning Center
NSTA's e-professional development (PD) portal to help you address your classroom needs and busy schedule. You can gain access to more than 6,000 different resources, of which over 1,800 are free.

Cover Art
Stop faking it: finally understand science so you can teach it (series)
Call Number: Various
ISBN: 0873552164
This series explores common scientific concepts in easy-to-understand language.

Keeping food fresh
Call Number: WCU GENERAL TX601 .B25 1985
ISBN: 0385276753
Comprehensive and authoritative, an indispensable reference book for all cooks on how to select and store nearly every type of food.

NC WiseOwl
Provided to elementary and secondary schools in North Carolina by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Access is limited to school students, faculty, staff, and parents. A password can be obtained from the school library media specialist. Science resources include: The New Book of Knowledge for elementary and middle school students, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia for middle and high school students, and Popular Science.

Your Subject Guide

Profile Image
Beth McDonough, Ed.D.
Contact Info
Education Reference Librarian
Hunter Library
828-227-3423
bmcdono@wcu.edu
Toll Free: (866) 928-5424
Send Email
Subjects:
Education
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip