Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal Package Cancellations
Subscription costs continue to rise steadily and consume a greater percentage of the library's collection budget each year. Many libraries struggle with unaffordable and unsustainable journal subscriptions and have made similiarly difficult choices, including UNC Chapel Hill and the University of California System.
The Collections Advisory Committee has identified two journal package subscriptions to cancel in response to our budget shortfall and subscription inflation. These are:
- SAGE Journals
- Springer Journals
Our cancellation of these packages does not automatically mean lost access to a particular journal. Some journals in these packages have alternative access available through one of our other electronic resources. However, there may be embargoes (i.e., current content withheld) on this content. Embargo lengths may vary from 6 months to 6 years.
Concerns or questions regarding access to a particular journal may be shared with your subject liaison, who will share these with the Collections Advisory Committee. Full title lists for each publisher are below.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Search and full-text portal to Sage e-journals.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Search and full-text portal to Springer e-journals.
These products were identified for the following reasons:
- Cancelling these packages avoids singling out specific colleges or programs. Cuts are not concentrated in one college or program area but distributed more equally across the university.
- We already have robust, permanent SAGE holdings that are not dependent on subscriptions. This should reduce the impact of cancelling the SAGE subscription.
- We purchased deep back files from SAGE, which runs from Volume 1 through 1998.
- Our current journal package subscription gives perpetual access to content from 2010-2020. Even after we cancel the subscription, we will retain access to content from these years.
- Titles in SAGE and Springer are readily obtainable through interlibrary loan or pay-per-view.
- In previous reviews, databases were targeted for reductions. Many remaining databases have content not necessarily obtainable through interlibrary loan.
- Some journal packages are ineligible for cancellation due to accreditation requirements of agencies such as the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) and the American Chemical Society (ACS).
- Previous cuts already eliminated titles of secondary importance and/or low use. Due to the size of the required cut and the limited options to achieve that, cuts to large e-journal packages are necessary.
- In addition to cutting the SAGE and Springer packages, we cut funds from monographs. This distributes cuts across the entire collections budget.
Requesting Individual Journal Titles
We have set aside funds to subscribe to individual SAGE and Springer titles by request. Requests will be considered with the following criteria in mind:
Curricular importance and accreditation needs
Cost and cost-per-use
Access to content can be provided through interlibrary loan or other means when a subscription request is not approved.
18 journals were selected in the Fall 2020. The cost to subscribe to those journals will be $23,863.
28 journals were selected in the Spring 2021. The cost to subscribe to those journals will be $35,437.
How did CAC choose what to pick-up?
- CAC used a ranking system based on average cost per use and average annual usage in conjunction with faculty and liaison feedback to determine the most equitable and cost effective use of available funds. Care was taken to ensure the choices were equitable across colleges and programs. In Spring, priority was given to areas who had not had requests approved in the Fall.
Can my department purchase the title directly?
- The library is open to an arrangement where an individual college or department funds the purchase of the journal; however, these arrangements will be handled on a case-by-case basis.
Approved Journal Subscriptions
Spring 2021 Approved Titles
- Agriculture and Human Values
- American Educational Research Journal
- American Review of Public Administration
- American Sociological Review
- Applied Spectroscopy
- Biodiversity & Conservation
- Conservation Genetics
- Crime, Media, Culture
- Criminal Justice Policy Review
- Entrepreneurship Education and Pedagogy
- Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice
- Environmental Science and Pollution Research
- Gender and Society
- Gifted Child Quarterly
- Intervention in School and Clinic
- Journal of Archaeological Research
- Journal of College Student Retention
- Journal of Forestry Research
- Journal of Management
- Landscape Ecology
- Mathematical Intelligencer
- Political Research Quarterly
- Public Choice
- Punishment & Society
- Review of Economics of the Household
- State and Local Government Review
- Theoretical Criminology
Fall 2020 Approved Titles
- American Journal of Sports Medicine
- American Politics Research
- Crime and Delinquency
- Criminal Justice and Behavior
- Educational Administration Quarterly
- Educational Researcher
- Environment & Urbanization
- Journal of Black Studies
- Journal of Learning Disabilities
- Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency
- Police Quarterly
- Project Management Journal
- Remedial and Special Education
- Review of Educational Research
- Sex Roles
- Social Psychological and Personality Science
- Urban Education
- Violence Against Women
Questions? Concerns? More Information?
If you have questions regarding the library's cancellation process or alternative modes of accessing materials, please contact your subject liaison.
Every three years, NC LIVE reviews statewide resources, analyzes usage trends, and reviews feedback from libraries to decide which resources to renew, add, or cancel. More information is available from NC LIVE.
NC LIVE Cancellations
|SimplyAnalytics Subscription added |
|Gale in Context: Science
|Gale Teaching and Education Reference Center (TERC)
|EBSCO Biography Reference
NC LIVE New Resources
|EBSCO Learning Express/PrepStep
|Gale in Context: Biography
|Films on Demand: Just for Kids