Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Find Journal Articles: Qualitative vs. Quantitative

Use this guide to find scholarly, full-text journal articles from Hunter Library's collection of databases, both subject-specific and interdisciplinary.

Qualitative versus Quantative versus Mixed Methods Research

Need help understanding the differences between different research paradigms?   Play the Research Paradigms interactive video (or read the text version) to understand the difference between qualitative, quantitative,and mixed-methods research.

Bibliography & Acknowledgements

Bibliography

Appelbaum, M., Cooper, H., Kline, R. B., Mayo-Wilson, E., Nezu, A. M., & Rao, S. M. (2018). Journal article reporting standards for quantitative research in psychology: The APA Publications and Communications Board task force report. American Psychologist, 73(1), 3–25. https://doi.org/10.1037/amp0000191

Cooper, H. M., & American Psychological Association. (2012). APA handbook of research methods in psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

Given, L. M. (2008). The SAGE encyclopedia of qualitative research methods. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.

Levitt, H. M., Bamberg, M., Creswell, J. W., Frost, D. M., Josselson, R., & Suárez-Orozco, C. (2018). Journal article reporting standards for qualitative primary, qualitative meta-analytic, and mixed methods research in psychology: The APA Publications and Communications Board task force report. American Psychologist, 73(1), 26–46. https://doi.org/10.1037/amp0000151

Lewis-Beck, M. (2004). The SAGE encyclopedia of social science research methods. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.

Miller, L. H. (Ed.) (2016). The Sage encyclopedia of theory in psychology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.

Powers, A. B. (2010). Dictionary of nursing theory and research (4th ed.). New York, NY: Springer Publishing Company.

Tashakkori, A., & Teddlie, C. (2003). Handbook of mixed methods in social & behavioral research. Thousand Oaks, Calif: SAGE Publications.

 


Acknowledgements

Special thanks to the following faculty for contributing their expert opinions:

Kathleen Brennan, Christopher Cooper, Bruce Henderson, Michael McDonald, Nicholas Passalacqua, Ophir Sefiha, Yiqing Yang