Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books and Articles
Option 1: Philosophy and religion scholars share a lot of their research in book form. Use one of the suggested books listed on this page OR search the Library Catalog for your topic. You may only need a chapter or a section, so don't let the length of the books intimidate you!
The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title.
Option 2: Find some articles on your topic. You can browse one of these journals for recent scholarship:
OR you can search your topic in article databases by using the EBSCO Quick Search, which includes the Philosopher's Index and other relevant academic databases. Click on Peer Reviewed to limit to scholarly articles.
An index with abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. It covers the major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of related fields such as education, history, law and religion.
Provides online access to the full text of over 500 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Search for your topic in the full text of over 2,000 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers.
Use these texts for background information on a specific text (e.g., Proverbs, Ben Sira, Job) or philosophers.