Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
A biography database which merges Gale’s authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Includes more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
New
Provide comprehensives coverage of COVID-19 and other past coronavirus outbreaks, such as MERS and SARS, for context around the current global pandemic.
New
Full text of Ebony from 1945 to 2014.
New
Archive of Esquire magazine from 1933-2014.
New
Streaming video collection which provides a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform. Includes the educational videos children want to watch—Sesame Street, The Electric Company, The Wubbulous World of Dr. Seuss, The Berenstain Bears, Franklin, and thousands more.
Trial
Krokodil (Crocodile) was the USSR’s most famous and longest running satirical journal. Each issue may be viewed in the original layout and design, with searchable text, including relevant keywords within the artwork. a place or country (Vietnam, Washington, Pentagon), people’s names (Brezhnev), or abbreviations (USA, NATO, CIA, USSR). These identifiers, found in English throughout the database, have been manually tagged to allow for better discoverability.
New
Requires first registering for a free individual account and logging in with that account to view resources. Online practice tests and tutorials for academic and professional licensing tests including the GRE, LSAT, and GMAT.
New
Covers a broad assortment of both far-right and radical left political groups. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera, which allow researchers to explore unorthodox social and political movements in new and innovative ways and to understand the impact they have had on today’s society.
Trial
Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Easily add your own data for further impact.
New
Reports and interprets the world of sport, recreation and active leisure. It previews, analyzes and comments upon major games and events, as well as those noteworthy for character and spirit alone. Coverage from 1954.
New
A journal of politics, economics, education, foreign policy, labor, law and other social issues, literature and the arts. Coverage from 1865 through 2020.
New
Provides first hand reports on national, international, and cultural affairs with focus on Washington and other political hot spots. Coverage from 1955 through 2020.
New
Full text archive of Time magazine, a leading US news source, from its beginnings in 1923 through 2006. Useful for researching historical news and events.
New
Provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. With over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages, there is something for every learner. Transparent Language Online combines robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps for a complete language-learning experience.
New
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
New
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents including Women, War and Society, 1914-1918; International Women's Movement: The Pan Pacific/Southeast Asia Women's Association/1950-1985; Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969; and Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within The White House, 1974-1977.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...