Skip to Main Content

How to Research Local History: Home

Local History Research

Welcome.

This guide will help you research local history topics for Western North Carolina and southern Appalachia.

Secondary Sources

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

NCPEDIA

WorldCat This link opens in a new window

Google Books

Newspapers

Digital NC Newspaper Search

Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window

Microfilm is also an option. A librarian can set up the machine; bring a flash drive to save images.

Company/Organization Records

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search organization by author and by subject.

HathiTrust
Especially helpful for government documents and organization minutes.

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window

Internet Archive - Wayback Machine
North Carolina Digital Collections
Digital collections of the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.

Political Information

Raleigh News & Observer Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized images of the paper from 1910-1993. HTML full text is available from 1991-current. Text for the News & Observer Blogs is available from 2008-current and the Web Edition Articles from 2005-current.

Directories, Yearbooks, Vital Records, and Family Histories

Digital NC: North Carolina's Digital Heritage

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window

Other (Images, Correspondence, Manuscripts, etc.)

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window

Genealogy and Historical Societies
Public Libraries
Academic Library Special Collections

Quick Links

Appalachian Journal
Appalachian Heritage
This one is more of a literary journal, but sometimes has feature articles or interviews on important cultural topics.

Your Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Hunter Library
176 Central Drive
Cullowhee, USA
828-227-3408
hbuchanan@wcu.edu

Subjects: Anthropology, English, History, Philosophy and Religion, Poetry Collections, Political Science/Public Affairs, Sociology

{{system_footer}}