Research Guides: Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL): Finding Articles

Open-Access Journals

Open-access journals are scholarly publications that are free and publicly available online. Below is a list of SoTL open-access journals:

The Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-Based Learning
- The Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-based Learning (IJPBL) publishes relevant, interesting, and challenging peer-reviewed articles of research, analysis, or promising practice related to all aspects of implementing problem-, project-, inquiry-, or case-based learning in K–12 and post-secondary classrooms or workplaces.

International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
- International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning is an open, double-blind, peer-reviewed electronic journal published in May and November each year by the Faculty Center at Georgia Southern University. The journal is an international forum for research and information about the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL) and its applications in higher/tertiary education.

Journal of Empowering Teaching Excellence
- The Journal on Empowering Teaching Excellence is a publication by Utah State University. This journal intends to benefit faculty and instructional professionals by providing a place to share timely ideas, practices, and research around teaching.

Journal of Problem-Based Learning
- The Journal of Problem-Based Learning is an interdisciplinary/multidisciplinary professional journal showcasing innovation and best practice in Learning and Teaching methods consistent with preparation for contemporary professional practice across a range of contexts.

Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
- The Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (JoSoTL) is a forum for the dissemination of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in higher education for the community of teacher-scholars.

JSTOR (Open-Access SoTL Articles)
- JSTOR is a digital library that provides access to a vast collection of scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources. This link will take you to open-access articles on SoTL available through JSTOR.

Education Databases

Use the databases below to locate articles, journals, and more on SoTL.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for many journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
Education Database
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Education Source
Education Source is the world's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Provides access to education literature and resources from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC. Links to available full text.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a web search engine that finds scholarly literature, including papers, theses, books, and reports. By searching Google Scholar from the library’s webpage, you will have free linked access to the library’s subscription holdings. Other links from Google Scholar may prompt you to pay for articles, but DO NOT PAY for articles. We will help you get the articles you need.
JSTOR
Search for your topic in the full text of over 2,000 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers.

Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL)

SoTL Journals

Open-Access Journals

Education Databases

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS