Skip to main content
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Data Management Plans

Intro to Data Management Presentation

This presentation by Mark Stoffan and Elizabeth Skene covers the basics of data management and tools available to faculty and staff at WCU including  DMPTool, NC DOCKS, and the Odum Institue Dataverse.

Data storage during the project

You'll need to determine the level of data sensitivity for your project. Refer to the Data Handling Procedures Related to the Data Security and Stewardship Policy document for the most up to date information. 

To get assistance managing data and storage during your project, contact IT and request an IT project.

Data Sensitivity Levels Table

WCU Example response: Long term preservation

The data collected at WCU during this study will be archived in the Dataverse Network at Odum Institute for Research in Social Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill via an agreement with NC DOCKS. The data will be stored online and will publicly available. The Odum Institute Dataverse Network is committed to providing data repository that will “automate professional archival practices, guarantee long term preservation, and enable researchers to share, retain control of, and receive web visibility and formal academic citations of their data contributions.” Archiving the data in the Dataverse will guarantee the long-term preservation and accessibility of the data through a distributed digital preservation network. Additionally, the data will be available through the Odum Institute Dataverse Network catalog and will be given a persistent identifier, allowing a stable citation that will allow for proper acknowledgment. 

WCU Example response: Security, Storage, Management and Back-Up of Data

Research data archived on the school and university networked storage server is backed up on daily basis by the university services. The researchers are currently responsible for storage, maintenance and archive of the data. The specific storage directory of the data will be maintained by the Kimmel School at WCU in compliance with the university-wide Information Security Policies, University Policy 95: Data Network Security and Access Control.  All data associated with this project will be maintained in compliance with these established institution policies.

Data dissemination after the project

Most data management plans will ask about both the public accessibility of your data and how you will ensure it's long-term preservation. WCU's institutional repository NC DOCKS can help with both of these. 

Why archive your work there?

  • It's easily discoverable: NC DOCKS is crawled by Google and provides full-text keyword access.
  • In addition to published scholarship, you can submit data sets and pre-prints of your work.
  • Anyone, anywhere, anytime can see your work - no database subscription required.
  • Your work will be permanently available through a URL that will never break.
  • You will have a profile page that includes statistics that can be linked to from academic profile sites such as Academia.edu.

 


For Research Data

UNC Data Archive Logo

NC DOCKS is now partnering with UNC Chapel Hill's Odum Institute to host research data. This partnership offers the following advantages

  • no cost to WCU faculty
  • integration with NC DOCKS
  • automatic indexing of tabular data
  • automatic conversion of tabular data to multiple formats
  • redundant, geographically distributed back ups
  • cross searchability with thousands of other datasets (primarily in the social sciences)
  • long term storage of your data
  • ability to control the degree of access others have to your data
  • ability to update datasets and keep track of multiple versions

Hunter Library believes that the NC DOCKS/Odum partnership will ably fulfill the data management plan requirements that are now commonly being mandated by granting agencies. 

Each data submission should be accompanied by an Odum/NC DOCKS data deposit form (PDF).


For Scholarly Works

 

NC Docks Logo

 

Any faculty member interested in contributing works to WCU's IR, NC DOCKS, should contact Scottie Kapel, skapel@wcu.edu.

To begin the process, send Scottie a list of your works. The WCU Libraries will then verify which publishers allow self-archiving (you can check for yourself using SHERPA/RoMEO) and may also be able to scan some of your works. But for some items, you may need to send a copy to Scottie (usually as an e-mail attachment). We aim to make the submission process as simple as possible.

Criteria for Submissions

  • Each work must be the intellectual property of a WCU faculty member. (Exception - theses and dissertations will also be included in the IR.)
  • It must be complete and in final form. For articles, most publishers allow pre-prints to be placed in an IR
  • It must be a scholarly, research, or educational work.
  • It must be made available for global access at no cost via the Web.
  • The author/creator of each work must grant to WCU Libraries the non-exclusive right to preserve and distribute the work in perpetuity.
  • The library will verify if the publisher allows for IR archiving. Most academic publishers allow this. For those that do not, it will be the responsibility of the submitting faculty member to obtain written permission to place material in the IR.
  • Contributions to NC DOCKS are entirely voluntary; should the author later wish to remove any contribution, the Libraries will comply with the request.