It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In a review of the literature, a scholar examines the existing scholarly conversation among experts. This conversation usually takes place in the form of scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book chapters. "Peer reviewed" means that other scholars in the field critiqued the article before it was accepted for publication.
Below is an example by WCU Political Science professor, Dr. Ingrid Bego. The author cites:
To find scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, use the EBSCO Quick Search box and type in your topic, or use one of the more specialized Sociology databases (library search tools) listed below. The OneSearch box on the library's homepage includes books and journal articles.
Use this search box to search for articles within relevant databases such as SocIndex and Academic Search Premier.
AND/OR use one of the resources below. If you are doing a complete review of the literature, use them all! Scholars typically publish their research in articles and books.
The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title.
This major research database for Sociology indexes over 3,300 journal and other titles. It contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895 and 72 "priority" coverage journals. The database also includes full text for 547 books and 6,711 conference papers. In addition there is a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus and searchable cited references.
Google Scholar is a web search engine that finds scholarly literature, including papers, theses, books, and reports. By searching Google Scholar from the library’s webpage, you will have free linked access to the library’s subscription holdings. Other links from Google Scholar may prompt you to pay for articles, but DO NOT PAY for articles. We will help you get the articles you need.
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Index Chemicus, and Current Chemical Reactions. These databases index books, conference proceedings, and articles in journals from all disciplines.
Note: Edge Browser not supported.
I am looking for a specific journal or book (I already know the title).
Use this search if you already know what journal you need (examples: Social Forces, Research in Community Sociology).
Use this search if you know the title of the book you need (examples:The Gender Trap, The Sage Handbook of Sociology).