Skip to main content
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Philosophy & Religion: Buddhism Research Guide

Primary Sources

Find Secondary Sources

Religion Best Bets

Library Catalog

Library Catalog

The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title.

Philosopher's Index

Philosopher's Index

A primary index for scholarly research in philosophy and religion.

Encyclopedia of Religion

Encyclopedia of Religion

Also available in print: WCU Reference BL31 .E46 2005 

Religion Database

Religion Database

Religious news and information, including scholarly articles.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

700+ full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books from the world’s leading publishers, providing authoritative information in the form of quick facts and in-depth articles. Find background information, key concepts, historical context, and lists of the best books on a topic.

Search Tips

  • Use the word AND between your search terms. Example: Buddhism and meditation
  • Use an asterisk * to search multiple endings of a root word. Example: Buddh* (finds Buddhism, Buddha, and Buddhis, all at once)
  • Limit to peer reviewed to get scholarly articles
  • Once you find the perfect sources, look through the bibliography.Search the source of the article (journal) or the book title (if it is a book)--in a citation, the source is usually in italics--in the Library Catalog as a title.

Picture from Getty Images

Your Subject Librarian