Research Guides: Biology 190: Discoveries in Biology: Home

Pharmaceuticals: Books

Ten Drugs by Thomas Hager
Call Number: WCU EBOOK
ISBN: 1419734407
Publication Date: 2019
Top Drugs by Jie Jack Li
Call Number: WCU EBOOK
ISBN: 9780199362585
Publication Date: 2015
The Merck Index
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE RS51 .M4 2013
ISBN: 1849736707
Publication Date: 2013
Drug Discovery by Walter Sneader
Call Number: WCU EBOOK
ISBN: 0471899798
Publication Date: 2005
Hallelujah Moments: Tales of Drug Discovery by Eugene H. Cordes
Call Number: WCU EBOOK
ISBN: 9780199337149
Publication Date: 2014

Parmaceutical Databases and More

Lexi-Comp ONLINE This link opens in a new window
Merck manual-Professional Version This link opens in a new window
Click on "Drug Info" tab to browse or search entries.
MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new window
Browse by name.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Best for well-known drugs (e.g., penicillin, aspirin, etc.). Often includes brief history of pharmaceutical.

International Directory of Company Histories
Useful for histories of popular, brand name pharmaceuticals.
Top 200 Prescribed Drugs in the US
Charts in this article from 2018 list the top 200 medications prescribed in the US.

Peer Reviewed, Scholalry Articles

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Useful for information regarding pharmaceutical manufacturers. May include brand advertising information, too. Possible resource for brand history.

MLA Style Examples for Drug Databases

"Drug Name." Database Name, Date. URL.

Note: For Lexicomp, scroll down to the very bottom and look for the "last updated" information. Merck and MedlinePlus provide only copyright dates (so use those).

STEM Liaison

Krista Schmidt

She/Her

Contact:

117 Hunter Library
Western Carolina University

828.227.2215

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Construction Management, Engineering, Environmental Science, Forensic Science, Geography, Geology, Maps, Mathematics, Natural Resource Management, Physics, Political Science/Public Affairs, Science

Biology 190: Discoveries in Biology: Home

Pharmaceuticals: Books

Parmaceutical Databases and More

Peer Reviewed, Scholalry Articles

MLA Style Examples for Drug Databases

STEM Liaison

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS