Research Guides: English 461: 19th Century American Lit: Home

Start Here

Literary scholars often share their research in books or book chapters. Use the Library Catalog to search for your topic or for a specific title. The Library Catalog can also be accessed via the Books tab on the library's home page.

Library Catalog
The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title.

Use the Quick Search box for articles in several relevant databases in one easy search. Includes important search tools such as the MLA International Bibliography, Academic Search Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, and Education Source. It also links you to journal collections such as JSTOR.

Best Bets

Library Catalog

The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title. Often the best place to start for literary research.

MLA International Bibliography

Find scholarly articles, book chapters, and dissertations in literature, languages, folklore, & communication. Includes links to available full-text articles. Great for literary criticism and explication. Does not include book reviews. Tip: Start by searching for broad topics (e.g., Virginia Woolf) and narrow from there.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for many journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.

Project Muse

Provides online access to the full text of over 500 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Resources for Author Information

Literature Resource Center
Find biographical information and excerpts of criticism in this online reference tool covering more than 130,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
American National Biography
ANB Online contains biographies of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. It does not include living persons. This is the successor to the Dictionary of American Biography, which ceased publication.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies of the men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers authoritative, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. Search a specific name or find biographies by searching fields of interest/occupations, time periods, places, or religious affiliation. You can also browse by theme (generally groups of people such as Cavalier poets or Yorkists). Biographies of living people are not included.
Literary Sources
Gale Literary Sources provides access to Literature Resource Center and to Literature Criticism Online, which includes Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.

Ask a Librarian!

Meet with a Subject Specialist
Arrange to meet with the librarian who specializes in your subject field for customized help with major research projects.
Research Consultation Form
Use the online form or fill out a print copy available at the reference desk and give to the reference librarian.
Research Guides
Browse by subject and find useful research resources compiled by our librarians.
Check for Library and Reference Desk Hours

English 461: 19th Century American Lit

Search Tips

Journals

Librarian