Literary scholars often share their research in books or book chapters. Use the Library Catalog to search for your topic or for a specific title. The Library Catalog can also be accessed via the Books tab on the library's home page.
Use the Quick Search box for articles in several relevant databases in one easy search. Includes important search tools such as the MLA International Bibliography, Academic Search Complete, Communication & Mass Media Complete, and Education Source. It also links you to journal collections such as JSTOR.
The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title. Often the best place to start for literary research.
Find scholarly articles, book chapters, and dissertations in literature, languages, folklore, & communication. Includes links to available full-text articles. Great for literary criticism and explication. Does not include book reviews. Tip: Start by searching for broad topics (e.g., Virginia Woolf) and narrow from there.
Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for many journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
Provides online access to the full text of over 500 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Gale Literary Sources provides access to Literature Resource Center and to Literature Criticism Online, which includes Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Search within various reference works to find background information, author biographies, plot summaries, and book reviews. Also find full text of poetry and short stories. Note: "Literary criticism," as defined by this database, includes book reviews and plot summaries in addition to scholarly analysis. Use other databases such as the MLA International Bibliography to find criticism.
Find biographical information and excerpts of criticism in this online reference tool covering more than 130,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
Search for your topic in the full text of over 2,000 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers.
Google Scholar is a web search engine that finds scholarly literature, including papers, theses, books, and reports. By searching Google Scholar from the library’s webpage, you will have free linked access to the library’s subscription holdings. Other links from Google Scholar may prompt you to pay for articles, but DO NOT PAY for articles. We will help you get the articles you need.
Records of books, media, manuscripts cataloged by libraries throughout the world. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
A collection of more than 2 million images that document artistic traditions across many cultures and time periods: architecture, sculpture, photography, design as well as other forms of visual culture.
Here is a sample of a Works Cited list in one of Dr. Laura Wright's scholarly articles. As Dr. Wright does in the example, most literary scholarship cites the literary texts by the subject of study (in this case J.M. Coetzee), scholarly books and book chapters, and articles from scholarly journals.
176 Central Drive
Cullowhee, NC 28723
Administration: 828-227-7485
Reference: 828-227-7465
Circulation: 828-227-7485
