Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Whether you're looking for newspaper articles or scholarly/peer-reviewed journal articles, Hunter Library has hundreds of article databases and electronic journals to choose from. Databases may be subject specific (e.g., art, biology, business, political science, etc.), or interdisciplinary (across several disciplines).
To find which databases are most appropriate to your topic, go to the library's Articles & Databases page. Then select the subject that fits most closely to your topic.
In the same Articles & Databases page you will also find the link to Interdisciplinary Databases. If you are unsure of your subject area but you have a general idea of your topic, try searching from some of the interdisciplinary databases listed below. If you need help with your search contact the reference librarian.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for many journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
Search for your topic in the full text of over 2,000 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers.
Provides online access to the full text of over 500 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
CQ Researcher Online
Provides in-depth, non-biased reporting and analysis of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (Ulrichsweb)
Provides comprehensive and authoritative information on serials published worldwide. Also contains links to alternate titles, tables of contents, article abstracts, journal full-text and document delivery.
News & Newspapers
Contains the full text of these historical newspapers: the Washington Post (1877-2002), Los Angeles Times (1881-1995), New York Times (1851 - 2015), and Chicago Tribune (1849-1996). As well as The Wall Street Journal 1984-Present and other newspapers.