Research Guides: Mathematics 101: Home

Keywords for finding data

data
statistics
measurement
quantitative
qualitative
measuring
inventory
survey
count
graph
bar graph
assessment
bias
percentage
line graph
pie chart
sample
population
box plot
collecting

Bad Stats: Error Types

Bad data is inaccurate, incomplete, inconsistent information. A variety of things can lead to bad data, here are some common things that lead to bad data existing in research:

Skewing data
Using averages
Small sample sizes
Low response rates
Non-random sampling
Leading questions
Data visualization: distortion
Data visualization: choosing inappropriate viz type

Catalog of Biases in Questionnaires

Data Visualization

How to spot visualization lies
The Data Visualisation Catalogue
The Data Viz Project
Search by function, shape, data input type, and family (chart, diagram, etc.)

Research Tools (Databases!)

Arts and Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
For art, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, etc.
Arts Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
For art, design, theatre (or theater...use both spellings!)
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
For business, marketing, etc.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
For health fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
For communication & journalism
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
For criminal justice and law.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
For all educational topics
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
For environmental topics.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
For psychology-related topics
Science Database This link opens in a new window
For STEM topics
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
For anthropology and sociological topics. May include some criminal justice topics
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
For sports, sports medicine, etc.
Number of Simultaneous Users: 2-4

Data Issues

Data Problems

General Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary; includes many different topics
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary; includes many different topics

STEM Liaison

Krista Schmidt

She/Her

Contact:

117 Hunter Library
Western Carolina University

828.227.2215

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Construction Management, Engineering, Environmental Science, Forensic Science, Geography, Geology, Maps, Mathematics, Natural Resource Management, Physics, Political Science/Public Affairs, Science

Mathematics 101: Home