It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research guide for students in MUS 102 with Christina Reitz.
This guide is designed to get you started on your research for MUS 102. The books and other sources below are not a complete list of what the library has on the topics you are covering this semester. The items listed below are meant to give you an idea of the kinds of materials we offer and link you to sources recommended by your instructor.
Databases for articles
Article databases recommended by your instructor:
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for many journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTORSearch for your topic in the full text of over 2,000 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection is a collection of more than 10,000 high-quality educational streaming videos covering Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science, and Health. How to Add Videos to Blackboard
The Naxos Music Library is an on-line library of more than 75,000 tracks of music and includes classical recordings, world music, jazz, and national anthems. Naxos offers background information, including overviews of music history, a glossary and overview of musical terms, and the complete libretti of operas available in the library.
American Country by Lloyd SachsA singer belts out a lonesome song. A guitarist plucks out a twangy lead. A fiddle player brings out a sweet melody. These are the sounds of country. Country music rose out of the folk songs that immigrants brought to the United States. The music spread from the American South to all over the country, capturing the hopes and the struggles of everyday people. In the twenty-first century, fans enjoy all sorts of wild, upbeat, and moving styles of country music. Find out what inspired the country's most memorable songs. Discover the stories of outlaw musicians and Nashville legends. And learn more about superstars such as Hank Williams, Patsy Cline, Johnny Cash, and Taylor Swift.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Bugle Resounding by Bruce C. Kelley (Editor); Mark A. Snell (Editor)In the mid-nineteenth century the United States was musically vibrant. Rising industrialization, a growing middle class, and increasing concern for the founding of American centers of art created a culture that was rich in musical capital. Beyond its importance to the people who created and played it is the fact that this music still influences our culture today. Although numerous academic resources examine the music and musicians of the Civil War era, the research is spread across a variety of disciplines and is found in a wide array of scholarly journals, books, and papers. It is difficult to assimilate this diverse body of research, and few sources are dedicated solely to a rigorous and comprehensive investigation of the music and the musicians of this era. This anthology, which grew out of the first two National Conferences on Music of the Civil War Era, is an initial attempt to address that need. Those conferences established the first academic setting solely devoted to exploring the effects of the Civil War on music and musicians. Bridging musicology and history, these essays represent the forefront of scholarship in music of the Civil War era. Each one makes a significant contribution to research in the music of this era and will ultimately encourage more interdisciplinary research on a subject that has relevance both for its own time and for ours. The result is a readable, understandable volume on one of the few understudied--yet fascinating--aspects of the Civil War era.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018-01-29
Music and the Skillful Listener by Denise von Von GlahnFor Denise Von Glahn, listening is that special quality afforded women who have been fettered for generations by the maxim "be seen and not heard." In Music and the Skillful Listener, Von Glahn explores the relationship between listening and musical composition focusing on nine American women composers inspired by the sounds of the natural world: Amy Beach, Marion Bauer, Louise Talma, Pauline Oliveros, Joan Tower, Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, Victoria Bond, Libby Larsen, and Emily Doolittle. Von Glahn situates "nature composing" among the larger tradition of nature writing and argues that, like their literary sisters, works of these women express deeply held spiritual and aesthetic beliefs about nature. Drawing on a wealth of archival and original source material, Von Glahn skillfully employs literary and gender studies, ecocriticism and ecomusicology, and the larger world of contemporary musicological thought to tell the stories of nine women composers who seek to understand nature through music.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
Pretty Good for a Girl by Murphy Hicks HenryThe first book devoted entirely to women in bluegrass, Pretty Good for a Girl documents the lives of more than seventy women whose vibrant contributions to the development of bluegrass have been, for the most part, overlooked. Accessibly written and organized by decade, the book begins with Sally Ann Forrester, who played accordion and sang with Bill Monroe's Blue Grass Boys from 1943 to 1946, and continues into the present with artists such as Alison Krauss, Rhonda Vincent, and the Dixie Chicks. Drawing from extensive interviews, well-known banjoist Murphy Hicks Henry gives voice to women performers and innovators throughout bluegrass's history, including such pioneers as Bessie Lee Mauldin, Wilma Lee Cooper, and Roni and Donna Stoneman; family bands including the Lewises, Whites, and McLains; and later pathbreaking performers such as the Buffalo Gals and other all-girl bands, Laurie Lewis, Lynn Morris, Missy Raines, and many others.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-05-13
Hidden in the Mix by Diane Pecknold (Editor)Country music's debt to African American music has long been recognized. Black musicians have helped to shape the styles of many of the most important performers in the country canon. The partnership between Lesley Riddle and A. P. Carter produced much of the Carter Family's repertoire; the street musician Tee Tot Payne taught a young Hank Williams Sr.; the guitar playing of Arnold Schultz influenced western Kentuckians, including Bill Monroe and Ike Everly. Yet attention to how these and other African Americans enriched the music played by whites has obscured the achievements of black country-music performers and the enjoyment of black listeners. The contributors to Hidden in the Mix examine how country music became "white," how that fictive racialization has been maintained, and how African American artists and fans have used country music to elaborate their own identities. They investigate topics as diverse as the role of race in shaping old-time record catalogues, the transracial West of the hick-hopper Cowboy Troy, and the place of U.S. country music in postcolonial debates about race and resistance. Revealing how music mediates both the ideology and the lived experience of race, Hidden in the Mix challenges the status of country music as "the white man's blues." Contributors. Michael Awkward, Erika Brady, Barbara Ching, Adam Gussow, Patrick Huber, Charles Hughes, Jeffrey A. Keith, Kip Lornell, Diane Pecknold, David Sanjek, Tony Thomas, Jerry Wever
700+ full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books from the world’s leading publishers, providing authoritative information in the form of quick facts and in-depth articles. Find background information, key concepts, historical context, and lists of the best books on a topic.
Dictionary of American Music
Grove dictionary of American musicThe articles of the dictionary range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers, and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the US and the American history of the orchestra.
Call Number: EBook
Publication Date: 2013
The Grove Dictionary of American Music is a great reference source, but searching on their site isn't very straightforward. Below you'll find a screenshot of the main page of the dictionary to show where to search inside of this specific book.