Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books and Articles
Your best bet for finding scholarly sources on your topic is the Library Catalog (Books link on the library's homepage). You don't have to read the whole book! Often, you just need a chapter or section that addresses your topic. If you can come to campus, there are many books in the general collection. If you can't come to campus, there are many e-books available as well.
Try this keyword search: [your topic] AND early church
For journal articles, you can try searching within one relevant journal such as:
OR you can search your topic in article databases by using the EBSCO Quick Search, which includes the Philosopher's Index and other relevant academic databases. Click on Peer Reviewed to limit to scholarly articles.
An index with abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. It covers the major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of related fields such as education, history, law and religion.
Provides online access to the full text of over 500 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Search for your topic in the full text of over 2,000 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers.
Encyclopedias and Background Info (Online)
The encyclopedias and introductory texts are scholarly and a good place to start.
E-Books from Hunter Library