Research Guides: Parks and Recreation Management: Find Articles

Academic Journals

Trade Journals and Other Periodicals

Articles & Databases

For a more narrow search, try one of our databases that contain journals with parks, recreation, leisure, and outdoor studies focus.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window This premier, multidisciplinary database indexes over 13,000 journals, with full-text articles from nearly 9,000 journals. It houses a number of PRM journals and magazines, including National Parks and the Journal of Leisure Research. A great place to start in your search for articles.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Contains full-text articles and abstracts from a number of peer reviewed journals, such as Journal of Park and Recreation Administration, Leisure Sciences, and Managing Leisure.
Number of Simultaneous Users: 2-4
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window An index to articles in over 500 national and international periodicals, covering the scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. The index contains journal holdings similar to SPORTDiscus (since they are EBSCOhost databases) but it also contains unique holdings like the Journal of Unconventional Parks, Tourism and Recreational Research.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Covers more than 2,000 environment-focused journals with more than 900 of them available full text online. Natural resources, renewable energy, pollution, environmental law, and social impacts of environmental concerns are among areas covered. This database contains several of the same journals as the two previous listings, but also a number of titles with an ecological focus (like Environmental Management.)

Information Evaluation Tools

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (Ulrichsweb) This link opens in a new window
Helpful tool useful for determining if a journal is "refereed" or not.

Need Help?

Email Ask-A-Librarian

Phone: (828) 227-7465
Toll-free: (866) 928-5424
Text: (828) 398-0096

Search Tips

Use the Limiters

Limit your results to full-text, peer reviewed, by specific publication dates or source types.

Search with Boolean Operators

Use AND, OR, NOT, parentheses and quotations to enhance your search.

Think More Broad or Narrow

If you are finding little to no results, or too many general results, you may have to broaden or narrow your search concepts.

Look for Subject Terms

Subject terms are located in the database search results or a specific article record. Enhance your search by using these terms.

Don't Give Up

Contact the Reference Desk via phone, chat, email or text for help.

Parks and Recreation Management: Find Articles

Academic Journals

Trade Journals and Other Periodicals

Articles & Databases

Information Evaluation Tools

Need Help?

Search Tips

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS