Phone: (828) 227-7465
Toll-free: (866) 928-5424
Text: (828) 398-0096
Complete National Parks of the United States by 
Natural Resource Administration by
Natural Resource and Wildlife Administration presents a clear perspective on natural resource administration in North America, how it developed, how it is currently structured, and where it might be heading. Intertwined areas of natural resources, including wildlife administration, fisheries, forestry, and other competitive land uses, are heavily discussed. The book covers the history of natural resource management in Europe and North America, proceeding to environmental law; agencies involved in wildlife and natural resource management; and the human dimensions of public relations and economic concerns. Natural Resource and Wildlife Administration provides solid background on the history of natural resource conservation, critical laws protecting resources, and the nature of agencies. The interconnectedness among natural resources makes this a useful text for disciplines such as wildlife, fisheries, and forestry. Covers the development of natural resource law and the conservation agencies in North America, and also provides models for international use Examines the roles of diverse federal, state, and non-governmental agencies, and how they cooperate as professionals to accomplish natural resources management Leads readers to a greater understanding of the politics and interplay of priorities in professional conservation biology Assists the certification processes of professional societies Includes end-of-chapter questions for further thought and discussion, as well as offset boxes throughout the text to help explain more technical subjects
Your Guide to the National Parks by
More than 530 color images, 140 easy-to-read maps, and 55 hiking tables make this guide to America's most scenic wilderness areas─all 58 national parks─the most appealing, comprehensive, and indispensable book of its kind.
Your Guide provides step-by-step itineraries, kid-friendly activities, and all of the most popular ranger programs to help plan your family vacation. Thousands of hotels, restaurants, and attractions beyond the parks, as well as 11 suggested road trips make it the ultimate dashboard companion. Exhaustive activity information, including hiking tables, easy-to-find trailhead markers, outfitter details, and backpacking essentials, serves as blueprint for an adventure of a lifetime. With something for everyone this is Your Guide to the National Parks.
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America
From rodeos to quilting bees, stickball to stock car racing, American pastimes comprise a broad range of activities. The two-volume "Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America provides a comprehensive survey of these activities from the Colonial era to the present. This new title examines how the pursuit of leisure has changed over time, reflecting shifting social, cultural, political and economic trends in the United States. Particular attention is paid to how leisure activities have varied by region, class, ethnicity, gender and age. Such information fuels history class discussions and assignments as the curriculum increasingly requires students to understand not only the milestones of political and military history, but also how people lived day to day. From entries on specific types of leisure activities to discussions of important themes in the history of leisure, the "Encyclopedia provides a unique window into this key component of American social history.
50 Hikes in the Mountains of North Carolina by
The mountain ranges of North Carolina--from the Blue Ridge and Great Smokies to the southern foothills--are distinguished by steep gorges, spectacular waterfalls, lush forests, open vistas and temperate weather, making them a popular hiking destination in every season. This updated third edition offers day hikes for all skill levels and abilities, including an underground hike through an old gold mine and a climb to the top of the highest peak along the Blue Ridge Parkway. In addition to trailhead directions, hiking distances and times, safety tips, and topographic maps, you'll also find folk stories, historical anecdotes, and natural history information.
CRAAP Test for Information Evaluation
Currency: The timeliness of the information.
Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.
Authority: The source of the information.
Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.
Purpose: The reason the information exists.
Created by Meriam Library staff at CSU, Chico.
176 Central Drive
Cullowhee, NC 28723
Administration: 828-227-7485
Reference: 828-227-7465
Circulation: 828-227-7485
