Research Guides: Criminal Justice 280: Nielson: Finding articles

Finding articles

Scholarly articles are the bread and butter of a lot of the research you will be asked to do as a student at WCU. They are not inherently better than any other genre of writing, but they do have a specific purpose and unique production/publication process that results in an end product that looks much different from other writing with which you may be familiar.

Databases

Scholarly articles (and other publications):

Criminal Justice Database
An index to over 100 U.S., British, and Canadian journals in criminal justice and related disciplines.
PsycInfo
Comprehensive, international index to the literature of psychology: journals, dissertations, book chapters, and more. Includes abstracts and links to available full-text articles.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This major research database for Sociology indexes over 3,300 journal and other titles. It contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895 and 72 "priority" coverage journals. The database also includes full text for 547 books and 6,711 conference papers. In addition there is a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus and searchable cited references.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for many journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
A database of policy related documents on homeland security. It is organized to support local, state and federal decision-making and analysis and structured to assist scholars and academics in homeland security research.
SAGE Journals
Full-text access to SAGE electronic journals published in criminal justice, health care, the social sciences, humanities, and education. Search by topic or browse titles by subject area. Most appropriate for intermediate or advanced users.
Political Extremism and Radicalism
Covers a broad assortment of both far-right and radical left political groups. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera, which allow researchers to explore unorthodox social and political movements in new and innovative ways and to understand the impact they have had on today’s society.

Legal resources:

Westlaw Campus Research (Thomson Reuters)
A comprehensive collection of legal, news, and business-related resources. Includes analytical and primary law sources, newspapers, magazines, trade journals, company data, TV and radio news transcripts, foreign language news, and more.
Google Scholar
You can use Google Scholar to find case law. Just click on the case law button under the search box.

Criminal Justice 280: Nielson

Search tips

Peer review

Finding articles

Databases

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS