Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Countries, Peoples and Cultures Series by
Call Number: Varies
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Available in print and as ebooks, this brand-new series from Salem Press provides valuable insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe.
Education Around the World Series
Call Number: Varies
Publication Date: 2014-06-19
Each volume includes a substantial editorial introductory chapter, followed by individual country chapters written by indigenous authors who are recognised experts in their field, allowing for special local factors to emerge and to be explained with authority and cultural understanding. This encyclopaedic resource is the first to provide global coverage combining up to date portraits and analysis of distinctive features and guidance on wider resources including connections to online dynamic data sources.
International Education by
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE LB15 .I565 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
This encyclopedia is the most current and exhaustive reference available on international education. It provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of key topics, concepts, and issues, as well as in-depth studies of approximately 180 national educational systems throughout the world. Articles examine education broadly and at all levels--from primary grades through higher education, formal to informal education, country studies to global organizations.
Sociology of Education by
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE LC 191 .S63 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
An A-to-Z Guide introduces students to the social constructions of our educational systems. The roles of schools, the social processes governing schooling, and impacts on society are all critically explored. Also available as an ebook.
World Education Encyclopedia by
Call Number: WCU REFERENCE LB 15 .W87 2001
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This updated and expanded edition gives users up-to-date coverage of reorganized educational systems and high-interest topics such as technological advances.
Going to School in . . . Series (various countries)
Call Number: varies
Publication Date: 2008-07-30
The Middle East and North Africa are constantly in the news due to political turmoil, and it is difficult for students in those countries to attend school and live the life of a child or teenager. What is it really like? This volume traces the history of education in countries of the Middle East and North African region, identifying the types of education available for different genders and social classes, and how race, ethnicity and gender affect education for those students. Primary, Secondary, and Post-Secondary educational opportunities are examined, along with curriculum, and teaching menthods. Major reforms and philosophies are also presented. Countries included are: Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Egypt, Libya, Saudia Arabia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon.
Schools Around the World by
Call Number: CHILD COLL LB 1556 .B88 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
School can be very different from place to place. Readers find out about the similarities and differences in schools around the world.
A School Like Mine by
Call Number: CHILD COLL LB 1556 .S65 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-18
Explore schools around the world through the eyes of more than 40 students in Children Just Like Me: A School Like Mine. A refreshed edition of a DK classic, Children Just Like Me: A School Like Mine looks at different countries and cultures around the globe and reveals the lives of children as they learn at school. Broaden children's views of the world and learn about the daily lives of real students from places near and far, from Australia to South Korea. Where do children in Jordan learn? What subjects do they study in Egypt? Through the shared experiences of a school routine, Children Just Like Me: A School Like Mine highlights the differences and similarities between international schools, using school activities, classrooms, meals, and playtime in photographs and easy-to-understand text. From Africa to the Americas, students explain their daily routines in their own words and talk about what makes their schools special to them. Children can learn about their international peers through these engaging photographic stories of students. Children Just Like Me: A School Like Mine takes readers on an international trip to see how children around the world learn. Find out what makes school different in other countries, and learn what makes them just the same.
School Days Around the World by
Call Number: CHILD COLL LB 1556 .R88
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Author Margriet Ruurs begins this engaging informational picture book by posing an intriguing question: ?What is a school? Is it a building with classrooms? Or can it be any place where children learn? The fascinating stories that follow will expand how young readers think of school, as they learn about the experiences of real children in thirteen different countries around the world. From Marta in Azezo, Ethiopia, and Luciano in Mérida, Venezuela, to Alina in Taraz, Kazakhstan, and Lu in Shanghai, China, the children who are profiled live in places that truly span the globe. However, while there are huge differences in their environments, all the children share similar desires to learn, read and play with others. Alice Feagan's charming cut-paper collage artwork further enhances the idea of a global community by featuring smiling, enthusiastic children's faces, which are equally joyous and filled with life in every situation. As with all the titles in the popular Around the World series, using a familiar concept such as going to school is a perfect way to introduce children to other cultures and places in social studies classes. The author has provided several resources at the end of the book, including discussion topics and a list of organizations that help children access education. A world map at the beginning of the book shows the location of each of the countries, and a glossary contains definitions of the foreign words. These, along with a table of contents, make useful tools for familiarizing young readers with book navigation.
It's Back to School We Go! by
Call Number: WCU CMC Children's LB 1556 .J33 2003
Publication Date: 2003-08-05
Children from around the world share their school experiences.