Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Counseling: Find Articles

A research guide for students pursuing graduate degrees in School Counseling and Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Best Journal Article Search Tools

Limit Your Results

Use these search tools on this page to locate journal articles from our most popular databases, or for a complete list of article databases recommended for education visit the link below:

Find Journal Articles using our Most Popular Databases

For best results, follow these simple tips:

  • Use only the major terms for your topic. For example, if you want to research the relationship between school counseling and student achievement, the keywords are school counseling and student achievement
  • Put exact phrases (and only exact phrases) in quotes. For example: "school counseling" and "student achievement"
  • Put the word and in between each of your keywords: "school counseling" and "student achievement"
  • Use an *  to truncate your search:  counsel* will retrieve counselor, counseling, etc. . .

Experiment with different combinations of keywords. For example, "academic achievement" is another phrase for student achievement, and "guidance counselor" is another phrase that represents school counselors, so another search to get at the same information might be: "academic achievement" and "guidance counselors".

After your search, you will find numerous ways to filter your results on the left side of the result screen.  Some of the most popular are to limit to full text or limit by date.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar ranks the most frequently cited articles higher in your result list. Often full text is available via open access resources or author copies. To be linked to Hunter Library full text, use the link on this page or the database list to be routed through the proxy server and identified as a WCU student, faculty or staff. Click on the Find@WNCLN-UNCA,WCU link to access library subscription resources.  

One very useful feature of Google Scholar is that you can see subsequent articles that cited the original article by clicking on the cited by link. Tracking citations forward is a great way to find more recent research on your topic. 

Build a Keyword Search

Use this Keyword Builder courtesy of North Carolina State Libraries to make your own search string to copy and paste into the Find It in Education! search box or another database.

(c) 2002-2013, North Carolina State University