Research Guides: Maps: US Maps

Online Map Sources: Current & Historic Maps

Bodleian Library Map Room
Bodleian Library: Maps on the Web
Extremely high-quality images of historic maps depicting various worldwide places of interest. Maps included here come from Bodleian Library's Special Collections and Western Manuscripts.
David Rumsey Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 61,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 20th century maps.
Harvard Maps Collection: Digital Maps
The Harvard Map Collection is one of the oldest and largest collections of cartographic materials in the United States with over 500,000 items. Resources range from 16th century globes to modern maps and geographic information systems (GIS) layer.
Historical Topographic Maps Collection
200,000 historical topographic maps of the United States that are made electronically available as part of The National Map by USGS. Earliest maps are from 1884.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
The Perry-Castañeda collection (University of Texas at Austin) has digitized both current and historical maps. Digital images of historical maps can be browsed separately.
University of Connecticut: Historical Maps Collection
The UConn Library Map and Geographic Information Center - MAGIC is digitizing historical maps of Connecticut, Northeast United States, New England, United States, and select maps from around the world to make them available to the public.
University of Minnesota: James Ford Bell Library

USGS Series Maps

Hunter Library has many maps that were issued as part of the below USGS maps series. These maps are shelved in manila envelopes on the tall wooden shelving in the Hunter Library maps area.

Antarctic Geologic Map (A)
Circum-Pacific Map (CP)
Coal Investigations (COAL/C-) Map
Folios of the Geologic Atlas (GF)
Geologic Quadrangle (GQ) Map
Geophysical Investigations (GP) Map
Hydrologic Investigations Atlas (HA)
Land Use and Land Cover (L) Map
Mineral Investigations Resource (MR) Map
Miscellaneous Field Studies (MF) Map
Miscellaneous Investigations/ Geologic Investigations (I) Series
Missouri Basin Study (MB)
Oil and Gas Investigations (OC) Chart
Oil and Gas Investigations (OM) Map
Scientific Investigations Map (SIM)
Water-Resources Investigations Report (WRIR/WRI)

Maps

US Maps General

Online Map Sources: Current & Historic Maps

USGS Series Maps

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS