Research Guides: Management 300 &amp; 404: Naar: Company & Industry Information

Email Me

Contact:

sksteiner@wcu.edu
828.227.3417
Hunter Library office 119

Subjects: Accounting, Business (All), Business Administration & Law, Computer Information Systems, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Hospitality and Tourism Management, Human Resources, LGTBQIA+, Management, Marketing, Project Management, Sports Management, Women's Studies

Start Here

Choose your business carefully! Before you settle on one, look to see what information is available. Private companies are much harder to research than public ones. You may find a report on a company in one or more of the resources below, so it's worth checking them all. IBISWorld has industry and company benchmark data.

You may also check the website for the company to see what additional data or summaries they provide.

Company and Industry Research Resources

You may find your company in one or zero of these resources. If you find limited data, you may want to choose another company for this exercise .

Data-Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Information on 84 million private and public businesses, including NAICS codes, headquarters, executives, competitors, and company financials.

Buzzfile Business Search
Freely-available database of Dun & Bradstreet data on 18 million businesses in the US. Includes NAICS code, headquarters, executives, competitors, and customers.

Hoover's Company Records This link opens in a new window
Information for over 40,000 companies, including company overview, industry information, NAICS codes, leadership information, and historical financials.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Click "Company Profiles" toward the top left to limit your search to companies.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive company research, including financial statement data (current and historical), annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, and more for publicly traded companies.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Includes robust reports on each industry, including industry trends, analysis, government regulatory agencies, and external factors relevant to the industry. Check the External Environment tab for the Regulation & Policy section; it includes regulatory agencies.

Additional Sources for Regulatory Information

North Carolina Department of Commerce Business & Occupational License Database
Database will help you determine necessary licenses and certifications for business. Sorted by business type.
US Small Business Association Licence and Permit Applications
Assistance determining which licenses and permits are necessary, by industry.

News searches

The news can provide interesting details about your business.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for national and international newspapers. Also includes full-text television and radio news transcripts.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text newswires from around the world. Includes information about business, politics, economics, and international news.

Google News

Management 300 & 404: Naar

Start Here

Company and Industry Research Resources

Additional Sources for Regulatory Information

News searches

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS