This page provides links to both OA and OER content, but they are not the same! Read below for more information.
Open Access refers to scholarly works (primarily journals and books) that are made freely accessible online. Unless otherwise noted, traditional copyright protections apply and works cannot be modified.
Open Educational Resources refers to instructional content (primarily textbooks but also online tutorials, interactive modules, etc.) that are made freely available online. They can be modified to fit the needs of the course and redistributed.
Interactive Open Educational Resources: a Guide to Finding, Choosing, and Using What's Out There to Transform College Teaching by Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records.
OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Open Education North Carolina Collection contains free, open textbooks that have been curated for the most frequently taught courses across North Carolina's 2 and 4-year colleges and universities. Faculty can adopt these open educational resources (OER) to save their students money and lower the overall cost of higher education.
Open Textbook Library contains free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. Subject coverage includes humanities, social sciences, STEM, business, and more.
OER Commons contains a vast library of free, openly-licensed textbooks and other educational materials. It also offers Open Author, a tool to help faculty create original OER content.
The following resources contain open access, electronic content that is free for users. Unless otherwise noted, this content does not allow revision or adaptation. This is by no means an exhaustive list.
176 Central Drive
Cullowhee, NC 28723
Administration: 828-227-7485
Reference: 828-227-7465
Circulation: 828-227-7485
