Skip to main content
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Philosophy

Philosopher's Survival Kit

Library Catalog

Library Catalog

Find books, films, and other helpful resources. The best place to start.

Philosopher's Index

Philosopher's Index

An index with abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews in philosophy and relevant fields.

Loeb Classical Library

Loeb Classical Library

An online collection of Greek and Latin texts, in their original language and an English translation. The works span 800 BC to 1000 AD. Find primary resources for history, religion, philosophy, literature, mathematics, science, art, and more. Search by author (e.g., Plato) or title of work (e.g., Republic). You can also browse by subject (e.g., metaphysics), genre (e.g., oratory), or time period.

JSTOR

JSTOR

Search for your topic in the full text of over 2,000 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

700+ full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books from the world’s leading publishers, providing authoritative information in the form of quick facts and in-depth articles. Find background information, key concepts, historical context, and lists of the best books on a topic.

Project Muse

Project Muse

Provides online access to the full text of over 500 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

New Books

Quick Links