Psychology

Professional society of physicians who have completed an additional 5 years of residency in child and adolescent psychiatry. Their website includes free online resources for families (including a “Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist Finder”), medical students, and members.

Organization made up of counseling professionals in elementary, secondary, and higher education; community agencies and organizations; rehabilitation programs; government, industry, business, and private practice; career counseling; and mental health counseling. Their website includes content for members, students, and some news/public policy information for the public, and podcast series, blog, and counselor directory.

Organization of professional counselors employed in mental health services who aim to deliver quality mental health services to children, youth, adults, families, and organizations. Their website content primarily for members, but also includes a “Find a Counselor” search.

The APA is the world’s largest professional society for medical specialists who are psychiatrists providing treatment for persons with mental disorders, intellectual disability, and substance-related disorders. Their website provides information for members, medical students, and the public (via HealthyMinds.org) and includes free access to archive of news releases back to 2004.

Oldest national organization in the U.S. for psychoanalysts; includes 30 accredited training institutes and 39 affiliate societies in the U.S. Their website provides information for members, but also the public (including Find a Psychoanalyst directory).

“Largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the U.S. and is the world’s largest association of psychologists with 54 divisions representing sub-disciplines of psychology (e.g. experimental, social, clinical) or topical areas of interest to members such as aging, ethnic minorities, or trauma. Their website resources for members, students, librarians, and the public; free online access to archives of the Monitor on Psychology magazine (beginning with January 2000) and news and brief articles on current topics in psychology and psychology “help center” articles. Includes a bookstore, a “Find a Psychologist” search, and information on scholarships, grants, awards, and continuing education.

“Premier source of knowledge, professional development, and resources empowering school psychologists to ensure that all children and youth attain optimal learning and mental health.” Founded: 1969; based in Bethesda, MD.; includes 5 regional groups and 51 state groups. Holds an annual convention (February) and summer conferences (July). Their website provides free online resources for parents, educators, graduate students, and members, including free online articles, podcasts, and fact sheets; and information on national accreditation.

An interdisciplinary organization of psychologists primarily, but also psychiatrists, social workers, counselors, physicians, dentists, nurses, students, and other professionals who share an interest in the investigation and application of behavioral, cognitive, and other evidence-based principles to assessment, prevention, and treatment of problems of the human condition. Their website provides information for the public (including a therapist search feature), for students and professionals in the field, and information for members.

The oldest regional Psychological Association in the U.S.

Originally comprised of psychologists in the southeastern states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Puerto Rico the association now welcomes psychologists from any state who are interested in the mission and affiliations of SEPA.

North Carolina Psychological Association is a professional organization designed to serve the interests of psychologists in North Carolina. NCPA advocates for psychology as a science, a profession, and a means of promoting human welfare. It provides an organized voice for psychologists and promotes high standards for the profession.

Largest organization of faculty, students, researchers, and practitioners interested in Asian American psychology.

Organization "devoted to reevaluating and reformulating the role that psychology and the mental health field generally play within women's lives...by challenging the unquestioned assumptions, research traditions, theoretical commitments, clinical and professional practices, and institutional and societal structures that limit the understanding, treatment, professional attainment, and responsible self-determination of women and men, or that contribute to unwelcome divisions between women based on race, ethnicity, age, social class, sexual orientation or religious affiliation."

Organization's goal is to "have a positive impact on the mental health of the national Black community by meas of planning, programs, services, training, and advocay." Founded: 1968; based in Ft. Washington, MD.; Annual convention in July.

An organization of medical professionals, social workers, drug & alcohol counselors, marriage and family therapists, and community counselors whose purpose is to “advance psychology as a science in service to Native peoples of the Americas."

Largest group of organized graduate psychology students worldwide -- representing about one third of all APA members; it “offers all its members enormous opportunities to enhance their development towards a career in psychology and to shape the future of the discipline”; and “strives to help students succeed in graduate school and to develop as a members of the psychological community.” Website includes content aimed at student members – graduate school, careers, convention news, free online access to archives of gradPSYCH magazine and Campus Representative Bulletin; EPP exam prep information; awards, research scholarships, and travel and training grants.

Honor society affiliated with the American Psychological Association and the Association for Psychological Science; member of the Association of College National Honor Societies; functions as a “federation of chapters” located at colleges and universities throughout the U.S., Canada, the Caribbean, Ireland, and New Zealand.