Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library Catalog is almost always the most useful place to start history research because:
- It will help you find primary AND secondary sources
- The library has a wealth of resources that have been selected by your professors and librarians
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
You can also access the Library Catalog via the Books link on the library webpage.
Find Books (including Primary Sources)
Find Scholarly Articles
The quick search box searches for articles within Historical Abstracts, Academic Search Complete, and other relevant databases. Will provide indexing and links to JSTOR and Project Muse.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the scholarly literature of world history from 1450 to the present. Provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Also included are citations to book and media reviews, as well as dissertations.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of over 500 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for your topic in the full text of over 2,000 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Expert recommendations of the best resources for a variety of subjects including Literature, History, Religion, Criminology, Public Health, Environmental Science, and Social Work. Subjects are subdivided, and the selective bibliographies, presented in essay form, are written by scholars. Use this to start your research—or to make sure you haven’t missed anything important. Use the Library Catalog to find the full text of a specific book or journal (books and journal titles will be italicized in the bibliographies).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a web search engine that finds scholarly literature, including papers, theses, books, and reports. By searching Google Scholar from the library’s webpage, you will have free linked access to the library’s subscription holdings. Other links from Google Scholar may prompt you to pay for articles, but DO NOT PAY for articles. We will help you get the articles you need.
Tip 1: Full text in Google Scholar is limited. To link up to the library's paid resources from Google Scholar, you need to set up the library links in your preferences. Here's a brief tutorial to show you how.
Tip 2: Google Scholar works well when you have found the perfect source and you want to see who else has used that source. Here's a guide to using Google Scholar for Citation Tracking.