This guide serves as a basic introduction to information sources for emergency management.
Search the vast majority of the library’s resources in one place. Whether you’re looking for a book, an article, or a DVD, the single search box will get you there. Some of the most popular databases that are currently part of Find It! include ERIC, Project Muse, JSTOR, CINAHL, Academic Search Complete, and Medline.
Database contains full text
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Hunter Library has many print encyclopedias in subjects related to emergency management, such as terrorism, criminal justice, and more. You can browse the "HV" section, search the catalog, or ask for help at the reference desk. Below is an online encyclopedia you can access, followed by a link to an excellent online reference collection:
- Encyclopedia of Crisis Management
"The Encyclopedia of Crisis Management comprehensively overviews concepts and techniques for effectively assessing, analyzing, managing, and resolving crises, whether they be organizational, business, community, or political."
- World of Criminal Justice
The individual entries in this two-volume ready-reference source explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are also included. More than 320 photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics...
- Credo Reference
Over 350 full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books from the world’s leading publishers, providing authoritative information in the form of quick facts and in-depth articles. Find background information, key concepts, historical context, and lists of the best books on a topic.