Research Guides: Emergency & Disaster Management: Data &amp; Statistics

Data & Statistics

OpenFEMA
This page is intended to be a one stop shop for OpenFEMA—FEMA’s data delivery platform which provides data sets to the public in open, industry standard, machine-readable formats. Data sets are available in multiple formats, including downloadable files and through an easily digestible Application Programming Interface (API). Each page includes information about the specific data set, links to downloadable files, a data dictionary describing each field, and an endpoint link (if applicable for those data sets available via the API).
Data.gov
A search engine of the U.S. Government's open data. You can also browse by topic.
United States Census Bureau Data
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application enabling creation of professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Users are encouraged to create a personal account within Simply Map. Without an account, click the "Login as Guest" option.
Number of Simultaneous Users: 3
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
An online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. From research libraries to classrooms to the front page of the New York Times, Social Explorer is helping people engage with society and science.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on over 60,000 topics from 18,000 sources.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.