Research Guides: 2024-2025 One Book: Even as We Breathe: Historical Resources

Cherokee, NC

Cherokee Traditions: From the Hands of Our Elders
Hunter Library's digital archive of regional material from the Museum of the Cherokee Indian, Qualla Arts and Crafts Mutual, Hunter Library's Special Collections, and the Cherokee Language Program. This site database contains historic photographs, documents, and recordings in the Cherokee language.
Museum of the Cherokee People
The website includes an excellent timeline of events if you are looking for a paper topic.
Cherokee Studies Guide
Browse all Cherokee Language Materials in the Library Catalog
Browse collections at WCU, ASU, & UNCA. Click Request at the top of the screen to order items from ASU or UNCA.

Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new window
Explore historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.
Native American Archives This link opens in a new window
Archive of 1.8 million pages of primary source documents pertaining to Native American history and life from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. Records include Indian Census Rolls and Records of the Cherokee Indian Agency of Tennessee.

Grove Park Inn Photographs An on-line only collection of images of the construction and development of the Inn from UNCA's Special Collections. Many of the photographs are the work of John B. Robinson
Grove Park Inn Photographic Collection 1913-1930 A series of three albums from the UNCA Special Collections

About the Grove Park Inn Detention Facility: Densho Encyclopedia Information about the Grove Park Inn Detention Facility from the Densho Encyclopedia; an encyclopedia which provides information on the Japanese American Story during WWII
World War II and Montreat Information about Montreat's role as a detention camp after prisoners were moved from the Grove Park Inn. Includes photographs, letters, and other documents.
Story Behind the WWII Detainee Camps at Grove Park Inn, Montreat Assembly Inn: Asheville Citizen TImes
World War II Detention of Axis Diplomats , Businessmen, & Families: Presbyterian Heritage Center

Omni Grove Park Inn: History Information on the history of the Grove Park Inn from the Hotel's website
Historic Hotels of America: The Omni Grove Park Inn Information on the History of the Grove Park Inn from Historic Hotels of America

Special Collections
World War II in Southern Appalachia
World War II affected the residents of WNC both home and abroad. This collection highlights some of these experiences.