Research Guides: Anthropology 344: Home

Resources for Scholarly Research

Credo Reference
Useful for looking up concepts and definitions, not primary research articles.
Encyclopedia for Forensic Sciences
The Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences, Second Edition is a reference source that will inform both the crime scene worker and the laboratory worker of each other's protocols, procedures and limitations. Written by leading scientists in each area, every article is peer reviewed to establish clarity, accuracy, and comprehensiveness. As reflected in the specialties of its Editorial Board, the contents covers the core theories, methods and techniques employed by forensic scientists - and applications of these that are used in forensic analysis.

Journal Articles

Anthropologists often share new discoveries via peer-reviewed articles in scholarly journals. You can find these via databases such as the ones listed on this guide, including the one-search. Be sure to limit to peer review (or scholarly/peer-reviewed). Scholarly articles are written for other experts, so are less likely to include introductory materials.

How to find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles in Anthropology:

Try the EBSCO Quick Search Box below, or one of the other recommended search tools.

Library OneSearch
The main search box on the library's homepage, the OneSearch will reveal a list of books, articles, book chapters, and more on your topic. Use the refine options to limit to full text and peer-reviewed.

JSTOR
A great interdisciplinary resource for scholarly journal articles and some book chapters. JSTOR often does NOT include the most recent 4-5 years of a scholarly journal. Make sure you use other databases to find more recent articles.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a web search engine that finds scholarly literature, including papers, theses, books, and reports. By searching Google Scholar from the library’s webpage, you will have free linked access to the library’s subscription holdings. Other links from Google Scholar may prompt you to pay for articles, but DO NOT PAY for articles. We will help you get the articles you need.

Search Tools

Library OneSearch
The main search box on the library's homepage, the OneSearch will reveal a list of books, articles, book chapters, and more on your topic. Use the refine options to limit to full text or by format. For scholarly articles, choose Peer Review.

Library Catalog
The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title.

Selected forensic anthropology books in Hunter Library, sorted by date

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary resource for scholarly journal articles and some books and book chapters. JSTOR often does NOT include the most recent 4-5 years of a scholarly journal. Make sure you use other databases to find more recent articles.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Interdisciplinary social science database, great for anthropology topics.

Scholarly Journals

Journal of Forensic Sciences

Forensic Anthropology

Forensic Science International

Science & Justice

Citation Resources

American Anthropological Association (AAA) is a version of the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS), 17th Edition. In CMOS, there are two styles, which are the notes-bibliography system and the author-date system. AAA adheres to the author-date system.

Chicago Manual of Style Online

The Chicago Manual of Style in the library

Pick a Topic

CQ Researcher Online
Provides in-depth, non-biased reporting and analysis of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

Search Tips

Here are some simple search tips for finding relevant articles and books:

Use AND/OR/NOT to combine/exclude words or phrases (this is called Boolean Searching):

Example Search Phrases:

Basketball AND football = articles that have both basketball and football as topics together.

Basketball OR football = articles that have either basketball or football (or both) as topics.

Basketball NOT football = articles that are about basketball and that exclude football (be careful, this can exclude a lot of useful resources since it will exclude articles that have both basketball and football together).

Phrase searching:
Put quotation marks around words you want to search as a phrase. Not generally used for single words.

Example Search Phrases:
"forensic anthropology"

"pollen analysis"

"forensic entomology"

Librarian

Ansley Armstrong

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

124 Hunter Library
Western Carolina University

828-227-3397

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, English, Film Studies, Poetry Collections, Political Science/Public Affairs, Sociology

Anthropology 344: Home