Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below are resources to help you with Dr. Thomas's Local History Source Location and Analysis assignment.
Local history source location and analysis (20%): This assignment requires you to locate and analyze a primary source relevant to slavery in a place of personal significance to you (hometown, somewhere you visited, etc.). In a 1000-1500-word paper, describe the source, explain what it reveals about slaveholder oppression or enslaved people’s survival, and why it is significant to the history of slavery in the region.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. The collection includes oral history interviews, slave narratives, letters, memoirs, literary works, and artifacts.
Sabin Americana is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Includes original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more.
America's Historical Newspapers
Search or browse the full-text of over 1,000 early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922. This database includes titles from all fifty states and there are nine titles for North Carolina alone. Also included are several early newspapers in languages such as French and German.
A collection of U.S. newspaper articles published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience, including: life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment and more. All full text.
Laws and Legislation
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
The US Congressional Serial Set is a series of volumes that contain reports and documents of the House and Senate. In addition to congressional publications are reports submitted to the Congress by government agencies and commissions.