Research Guides: HIstory 460: Environmental History: Home

Secondary Sources

Library Catalog
The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title.

NCPEDIA
An online encyclopedia about North Carolina. NCpedia highlights North Carolina's unique resources, people, and culture. Click on each county for information on land area, population estimate, geographical features, and biographical information on its famous denizens.

WorldCat
Records of books, media, manuscripts cataloged by libraries throughout the world. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
An online historical collection of 3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 North Carolina county newspapers.

Special Collections
Historical North Carolina Newspapers Research Guide
Your guide to finding historical newspapers on any topic. Many national newspapers will cover NC news, so take a look at the News & Newspapers database in addition to NC newspapers.

Microfilm is also an option. A librarian can set up the machine; bring a flash drive to save images.

Library Catalog
The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title.

North Carolina Business Directories
Various business directories in the library's collection, with a links to a few online archives.
HathiTrust
Especially helpful for government documents and organization minutes.

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed descriptions of collections of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives throughout the world. It includes nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.

Internet Archive - Wayback Machine
A database of tens of thousands of movies, live music, audio, texts, and home of the Wayback Machine that allows you to find old versions of web pages, over 55 billion.
North Carolina Digital Collections
Digital collections of the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.

North Carolina Manual E-Version
Issues from 1874 forward. From 1917 to present: contains biographical sketches of North Carolina's members of Congress, state legislators, state executive and administrative officials, and state and federal court judges. Also includes state symbols, election statistics, maps and charts, information on higher education, historical perspectives of the counties, photographs (both color and black and white), census figures, and other information.
Editions before 1917 may contain retrospective information and vary in topical coverage.
North Carolina State Government Publications

Raleigh News & Observer Historical Archive
Includes digitized images of the paper from 1910-1993. HTML full text is available from 1991-current. Text for the News & Observer Blogs is available from 2008-current and the Web Edition Articles from 2005-current.

Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool created for libraries that provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique primary resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.

Special Collections
Digital Public Library of America
Discover content from the digital collections of many libraries, museums, and archives with one search. This is a rich source of primary materials. You can also browse by date or place.

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed descriptions of collections of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives throughout the world. It includes nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.

Email Me

Contact:

Hunter Library
176 Central Drive
Cullowhee, USA
828-227-3408
hbuchanan@wcu.edu

Subjects: Appalachia, History