Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool created for libraries that provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique primary resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.
Browse regional collections housed in Hunter Library’s Special Collections, which focus on manuscripts documenting southern Appalachian life and natural history, with particular attention to western North Carolina. Materials can be viewed in the Hunter Library Special Collections reading room.
Search for a specific title in the Library Catalog. The results will tell you if the library has the item in print (current copies on our newspaper shelves; older copies on microfilm) or online via a database. Ask at the reference desk or the circulation desk if you need assistance using microfilm.
Includes digitized images of the paper from 1910-1993. HTML full text is available from 1991-current. Text for the News & Observer Blogs is available from 2008-current and the Web Edition Articles from 2005-current.
Hunter Library has many newspapers on microfilm; many of these are also available via various digital collections or databases. Browse those access points here--by title, location, or time period. You can also search this resource by a town name (e.g., Sylva) and find relevant newspapers.
Selected English language articles from the Cherokee Phoenix newspaper, published by the Cherokee Nation from 1828-1834. Articles focus on Cherokee history and regional history. Includes an index to issues of the Cherokee Phoenix in microfilm available in Hunter Library.