Research Guides: How to Research Local History: North Carolina Newspapers

Jackson County and Cullowhee

WCU Resources

A Mountain Heritage : the Illustrated History of Western Carolina University
Call Number: WCU GENERAL LD3954 .W66 1989
Excellent book about the history of WCU.

Other Helpful Resources

Other Materials about the History of Western Carolina University
This link takes you to the library catalog for additional materials.

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool created for libraries that provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique primary resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.

Encyclopedia of North Carolina (online via NCPedia)
Hunter Library Special Collections Manuscript Collections
Browse regional collections housed in Hunter Library’s Special Collections, which focus on manuscripts documenting southern Appalachian life and natural history, with particular attention to western North Carolina. Materials can be viewed in the Hunter Library Special Collections reading room.

Search for a Specific Newspaper Title
Search for a specific title in the Library Catalog. The results will tell you if the library has the item in print (current copies on our newspaper shelves; older copies on microfilm) or online via a database. Ask at the reference desk or the circulation desk if you need assistance using microfilm.

North Carolina News Sources (1972-Current) This link opens in a new window
NC news sources with coverage of topics from 1972 to present. Includes recent issues of The Charlotte Observer, The Raleigh News and Observer, The Sylva Herald,and other NC papers.

List of NC Newspaper Websites
Note: many online newspapers have limits to how many articles you may access for free per month. If you have trouble accessing a specific article, contact a librarian.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes the Asheville Citizen Times.

Library Catalog: Title Search
Most of the time, the library catalog will link you to databases and/or microfilm holdings.

Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
The North Carolina Collection of Newspapers.com--subscription through NCLive

Digital NC: North Carolina Newspapers
A growing collection of digitized newspapers from all over North Carolina. Each title has a limited range of dates available.Search by a topic or browse for a specific newspaper.

Charlotte Observer Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of the paper from 1892-1985.
Raleigh News & Observer Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized images of the paper from 1910-1993. HTML full text is available from 1991-current. Text for the News & Observer Blogs is available from 2008-current and the Web Edition Articles from 2005-current.

Browse Hunter Library's NC Historical Newspapers
Hunter Library has many newspapers on microfilm; many of these are also available via various digital collections or databases. Browse those access points here--by title, location, or time period. You can also search this resource by a town name (e.g., Sylva) and find relevant newspapers.
The Cherokee Phoenix from Hunter Library
Selected English language articles from the Cherokee Phoenix newspaper, published by the Cherokee Nation from 1828-1834. Articles focus on Cherokee history and regional history. Includes an index to issues of the Cherokee Phoenix in microfilm available in Hunter Library.

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Covers 1690-1922. Nine titles from N.C. and many more from the southeast.