Skip to main content
Hunter Library
Research Guides
Western Carolina University

Anthropology

Guide for finding books, articles, data, and other information for anthropology topics

Help is Available!

Hello! I am still available to provide specialized assistance including help with research on a topic or finding a specific resource such as an article,book, or film. Feel free to email or call 828-227-3408 (leave a voicemail and I will return it). I am also available for virtual appointments via Zoom or phone.  
Sincerely,
Heidi Buchanan, Research & Instruction Librarian

Anthropology scholars share their work primarily in the form of books and scholarly journal articles.  Here's how to find them by your topic.


Use the Quick Search box for articles in a number of relevant databases in one easy search. Use the Quick Search box to search for articles within our most popular databases and those that are the most relevant, such as SocIndex, JSTOR, and Project Muse

Limit Your Results

Or search a specific database:

Key Resources

Library Catalog Logo

Library Catalog

The classic version of the library catalog. Search the library’s collections to find books, e-books, journal titles, films, and more. Search your topic by keyword or subject--or search for specific items by author or title.

SocIndex Logo

SocINDEX with Full Text

This major research database for Sociology indexes over 3,300 journal and other titles. It contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895 and 72 "priority" coverage journals. The database also includes full text for 547 books and 6,711 conference papers. In addition there is a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus and searchable cited references.

JSTOR Log

JSTOR

Search for your topic in the full text of over 2,000 scholarly journals covering over 30 disciplines in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences. JSTOR includes the archival runs of journals, offering cover-to-cover full text back to each journal’s first issue. JSTOR does not usually include the last few years of the journals. Books at JSTOR offers more than 35,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers.

Project Muse Logo

Project Muse

Provides online access to the full text of over 500 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

National Geographic Logo

National Geographic Virtual Library (Archive)

National Geographic Virtual Library is a complete historical archive of National Geographic magazine, from 1888-1994 and includes every page of every issue, along with a cross-searchable collection of articles, maps, and images.

Native American Archive Logo

Native American Archives

Archive of 1.8 million pages of primary source documents pertaining to Native American history and life from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. Records include Indian Census Rolls and Records of the Cherokee Indian Agency of Tennessee.

IP Archive Logo

Indigenous Peoples: North America

Explore historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.