Research Guides: Education: Articles, Journals & Databases

Use the search tools on this page to locate articles, journals, and a complete list of databases recommended for education. We have a ton of education databases that will help you with your research. Below are a few databases you can explore that are specific to education.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for many journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is the world's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to education literature and resources from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC. Links to available full text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a web search engine that finds scholarly literature, including papers, theses, books, and reports. By searching Google Scholar from the library’s webpage, you will have free linked access to the library’s subscription holdings. Other links from Google Scholar may prompt you to pay for articles, but DO NOT PAY for articles. We will help you get the articles you need.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find biographical information and excerpts of criticism in this online reference tool covering more than 130,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.

To find scholarly, peer-reviewed journals from various disciplines and databases, use the EBSCO Databases Quick Search.

For best results, follow these simple tips:

Use only the major terms for your topic. For example, if you want to research the relationship between high-stakes testing and student achievement, the keywords are high-stakes tests and student achievement
Put phrases (and only phrases) in quotes. For example: "high-stakes tests" and "student achievement"
Put the word and in between each of your keywords: "high-stakes tests" and "student achievement"
Use an * to truncate your search: comput* will retrieve computer, computing, computes, etc. . .

Introduction to Literature Reviews

Graduate research methods courses commonly require either a research proposal or an applied research project. In either case, a major component of the assignment, and your grade, will be a review of the existing literature on your topic, including empirical research studies. This guide offers an overview of literature reviews and features library resources and services that will help you be successful.

Because literature reviews differ significantly from a standard research paper or annotated bibliography, it helps a lot to gain a basic understanding of what a literature review is. The resources below can help.

This short video used with permission from North Carolina State University Libraries offers an overview of literature review assignments.

Education

Statistics

HUNTER LIBRARY

QUICK LINKS

HOURS